Book Review – A Court of Wings And Ruin

acowar_us

Title: A Court of Wings And Ruin

Author: Sarah J Maas

Synopsis: Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

Rating: 5 Stars

Review: I have literally no words right now, that would do this book any justice. Maybe there’s some gifs out there that could describe how ACOWAR has made me feel….

So, yeah, you get the drift; I’m in total fangirl mode right now. Now, lets try and put these feelings into actual words.

Where ACOTAR introduced us to the Fae world, and ACOMAF introduced us to the Inner Circle, this one led straight on from the end of Mist and Fury as the new High Lady of the Night Court works to take down the Spring Court from the inside, all the while dealing with Hybern and other forces conspiring against her and her kind.

First of all — Feyre. From page one, I was cheering for her and loving how she was playing the dutiful submissive to Tamlin, while silently planning three steps ahead.  Throughout the whole book, she does make mistakes, but she rises to her role as High Lady in the best way.

Someone had winnowed outright, fleeing. Another had fainted. And a third was clinging to whoever stood beside them, trembling.

(reactions to Feyre being High Lady)

Also…..Rhys. Just….Rhysand. My favourite fictional boyfriend. He’s snarky, and dry, but he’s also loving and caring, and just ugh, I want one!

qktnoft

I lowered my shields for him, just as his own dropped. His mind curled around mine, as surely as his body now held me.

 

I glanced at my mate—the male who had always presented me with a choice not as a gift, but as my own gods-given right.

 

The Inner Circle as a whole — I would kill for a friendship like this family does. Because that’s what they are. They’re a family. They bitch at each other, and would kill each other sometimes, but they would ALWAYS kill for each other, and that’s the best. The relationship between Mor and Azriel in particular, is something I love, just because they would cut the universe itself in order to save each other.

Our family—our court. The Court of Dreams.

Also, Rhys, Cassian and Azriel don’t talk down to Feyre, like she’s beneath them because she doesn’t have their same skill sets or their training. At one point of the book, there’s a moment when Cassian could have easily swooped in and saved Feyre, but instead of treating her as a damsel in distress, he gives her the opportunity to save herself from this, because he knows she can do it. That’s proper respect, in my opinion.

5ylgoceqdgd7azzlazg

The wrath that twisted Cassian’s face was world-ending.

But his hazel eyes slid to mine. A silent command.

He had spent months training me. Not just to attack, but to defend. Had taught me, over and over, how to get free of a captor’s grasp. How to manage not only my body, but my mind.

 

Another point that intrigued me is the morally ambiguous characters – the ones who seem evil and bad, but turn out to be an actual asset for the good side. Maas writes these complicated characters, blurring the lines between good and evil, black and white, and it’s fascinating to watch their characters develop and change.

And on the subject of characters, I LOVED the LGBT characters introduced in this book, where previously they hadn’t existed. Admittedly, it did feel like overcompensation nearer the end, but I’m not complaining, especially when we have an openly bisexual character who seems like he’ll become a more prominent character in future, and a badass lesbian character who will not take any shit from anyone.

Basically, if you like high fantasy, morally grey characters, and being repeatedly hit with a freight train of emotions, this is the book for you.

Now, for some quotes to whet your appetite for this deliciously wonderful book:

 

“Autumn Court males have fire in their blood—and they fuck like it, too.”

klwngyy7m0wmc

“Rhys sacrificed his legion in the process, got all of them captured and tortured afterward. Yet everyone insists Rhysand is soulless, wicked. But the male I knew was the most decent of them all. Better than that prick-prince.”

 

“Perhaps that’s because Rhysand has not lost you at all. But rather unleashed you upon us.”

 

“I think they aren’t accustomed to being denied. I’d call this an immortal temper tantrum.”

 

“My father will hunt you for taking his power if he finds out,” he said into the frigid dark. “And kill you for learning how to wield it.”

“He can get in line,” was all I said.

tumblr_m4q0m1jm1o1rr8loao1_400

“Right. Rumor has it you two have run off together, cuckolding Tamlin.” His grin widened. “I didn’t think you had it in you, little brother.”

“He had it in her, it seems,” one of the others sniggered.

Cassian observed, “I don’t know who looks more uncomfortable: Az or Lucien Vanserra.”

I chuckled, glancing over my shoulder to where the shadowsinger carried my friend, both of them making a point not to speak, look, or talk.

ph7mnfn

“Amren is a bedtime story they told us as younglings to make us behave. Amren was who would drink my blood and carry me to hell if I acted out of line. And yet there she was, acting more like a cranky old aunt than anything.”

 

Mor spewed her wine across the table, splattering it right across Azriel’s chest and neck. The shadowsinger was too busy gawking at me to even notice.

Cassian looked torn between howling at Azriel and gaping.

“I tried to suggest she stay at home,” Kallias said drily, “but she threatened to freeze my balls off.”

Rhys slid his hands into his pockets. “I figure it’s time for the world to know who really has the largest wingspan.”

anigif_enhanced-buzz-21474-1381765520-19

Amren’s red lips parted in a wide, serpentine smile. “When you erupt, girl, make sure it is felt across worlds.”

A shiver slithered down my spine.

But Rhys drawled, “Amren, it seems, has been taking drama lessons at the theatre down the street from her house.”

She shot a glare at him.

 

One thought on “Book Review – A Court of Wings And Ruin

Leave a Reply

