13 Reasons Why (You Should Read)… Part 2

As you probably know already, ‘13 Reasons Why’ recently premiered on Netflix (and if you didn’t know, then which rock have you been living under?!) and while I haven’t seen it yet, I’ve been inspired to start a series of posts, in which I will detail 13 reasons why you should read a certain book.51nclybserl

Here’s thirteen reasons why you should read ‘The Wheel Mages’ by Aimee Davis.

“His pleading eyes shattered the fragile walls I’d tried to construct around my feelings for him.

I glanced at Nikolai again, at his high cheekbones, kind green eyes, messy brown hair, and broad muscular body.”

 

  1. Constant plot twists – seriously, you’ll never be bored while reading this book. There’s constantly surprises tripping you up, and making you re-evaluate who’s a good character and who isn’t.
  2. Morally ambiguous characters – who doesn’t love those?
  3. High Fantasy – essentially the best genre ever, if I do say so myself. Think, along the lines of Sarah J Maas’ ‘Throne of Glass’ series – that’s how good this is.
  4. Element magic! Basically if you combined Harry Potter with The Last Airbender? Except way better! The main character is a rare water mage, and her mentor is an earth mage, and so forth. Elements are cool.
  5. Vaguely historical? It’s set in an era that’s very similar to our 1800s, so it’s fascinating to see the magic woven in these historical elements – for example, at one point in the book, two of the main characters open a tavern together.
  6. Nikolai….. Oh, Nikolai deserves a whole book just to himself. I would read that book so much. He’s sweet, and well-meaning, and genuinely cares about the people around him. In short, he’s in my top ten book boyfriends right now.
  7. LGBTQ+ representation – even though the main character isn’t queer, there are multiple references to the existence of LGBTQ people, and there’s even secondary characters who identify as queer. Unlike a lot of other fantasy books, same-sex relationships aren’t ignored in this book, nor are they portrayed as amazing and perfect. They’re portrayed as realistically emotional and complex, and I love that.
  8. An absolutely lovely author – I’ve been corresponding with Aimee ever since she first emailed me about reviewing ‘The Wheel Mages’ and that’s evolved into simply just us chatting about random things, like real friends. She’s not pretentious, or stuck-up, or rude in any way. She’s so lovely, and I encourage you to reach out, if you do happen to read and love this book as much as I do.  
  9. Girl power – the MC, Alena, is so strong in her own right, but then we have Catalina, another character, who seems frivolous and simpering at the start, but then shows her fighting edge later on, showing that girls can like dresses and makeup but also kick ass. Because, of course we can!
  10. It’s self published – we should all support self-published authors just as much as authors who are traditionally published, if not more. Go indie authors!
  11. Good pacing – the book’s action is so well paced, that it never feels rushed ( or on the flipside, too slow), and you have time to get to know the characters aside from the action scenes.
  12. World-building – it’s a universe you can feel immersed in. I know when I was reading it, I was wishing I was a mage, or a patron of Nikolai and Alena’s tavern, or a part of this world in general.
  13. Corrupt politics trope – because reading about fictional politics is a hell of a lot more enjoyable than listening to real-life politics, right?

 

Also, in case you want more proof of how awesome Aimee is, I actually got to do an interview with her, which you can go and read if you click here. Go on. Click it. I know you want to. 

fac9e2fd347d22a6501452d81353622b

You can also go and check out Aimee’s blog right here, where she posts musings on various topics, both bookish, and otherwise.  You should especially have a dander over there, so you can keep up to date with news about her upcoming sequel – ‘The Blood Mage’ – because I know I’m DYING for it to come out already!

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

