Book Review – Serpent’s Kiss (Elder Races #3)

12968504

Title: Serpent’s Kiss (Elder Races #3)

Author: Thea Harrison

Synopsis: In order to save his friend’s life, Wyr sentinel Rune Ainissesthai made a bargain with Vampyre Queen Carling—without knowing what she would ask from him in return. But when Rune attempts to make good on his debt, he finds a woman on the edge.

Recently, Carling’s Power has become erratic, forcing her followers to flee in fear. Despite the danger, Rune is drawn to the ailing Queen and decides to help her find a cure for the serpent’s kiss—the vampyric disease that’s killing her.

With their desire for each other escalating just as quickly as Carling’s instability spirals out of control, the sentinel and the Queen will have to rely on each other if they have any hope of surviving the serpent’s kiss

Rating: 4 stars

Review: Okay, so I’ve just binge-read the first three books in the Elder Races series so far, and I’m in love! This is the third book in the series, and while the first two were centered around Dragos and Tiago respectively, this one focuses on Rune Ainissesthai, Dragos’ second-in-command and best friend, and Carling Severan, the Vampyre representative on the Council. Rune owes Carling a favour, but whenever Carling calls that favour in, there’s something not quite right about the gorgeous Vampyre.

I’ve seen three Elder-Races guys so far – Dragos, Tiago, and Rune – and aside from Dragos (always my favourite!), I love Rune’s character in this. He uses words like ‘bitchin’ and ‘dude’ and I love that. It brings to mind the image of a hippie guy in board shorts, with a surfboard, and long blond hair, for some reason. I was a bit averse to him in the last book, but I genuinely did warm to him this time around.

tumblr_inline_miuhas0ujb1qz4rgp_zps26233850

Carling’s okay, as far as heroines go, but in comparison to Niniane, and Pia, she was sort of a let down. I didn’t really connect with her like I did with Pia and Niniane, and for me, she didn’t give me that spark that a reader gets for a character.

8c03fa785ebf216445436a43dbba942c

That being said, Thea Harrison is an amazing writer, and there were quite a few times I found myself laughing out loud while reading this.

Some of my favourite parts include:

How like a male. Pull out some tools and start banging on something, and they flocked in from miles around.

“If you fail in the slightest to do this one thing, I will find you. I will pull out your entrails and leave you to watch them bake in the noonday sun. Do you understand me?”

 

“My give-a-shit button’s broken, baby.”

 

Khalil scowled. “I could have sat on the children.”

“Sat with the children,” Carling murmured, as she fought the sudden urge to laugh. “With, not on.”

 

Carling made a note on her new iPad to remind herself to go a Google search for a definition of booyah.

 

Overall, I’d have to say that while this isn’t my favourite Elder Races book of the series so far, it’s still enjoyable, and well-written. LIke I’ve said before, if you like urban fantasy with a whole lot of sexual tension, this is a must-read series.

 

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

