TTT – Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme hosted by the Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is ‘Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So.’

I tend to read a lot of very hyped books – ones I’ve been hearing nothing but talk about – but this past year I actually read a lot of little hidden gems that I hadn’t even heard of before – a lot of LGBT books, but also a few others ones as well.I’m sure I’m forgetting some others, but for now, I can only come up with eight.

The Wheel Mages (Aimee Davis)

I very recently got this from the author herself – and what a book! I’m still actually reading this one, but I’m in love with the fantasy world she creates, reminding me of various elements from other fantasy books such as Alison Croggon’s Pellinor series, and the Circle of Magic quartet. Look out for the review of this very soon!

Tell Me Again How A Crush Should Feel (Sara Farizan)

Such a beautiful book, one that I can relate to very strongly – not because of the character’s Persian heritage, of course, but because of the events which happen to her throughout the book. No spoilers, but this truly is a massively underrated book.

Fan Art (Sarah Tregay)

Oh my god, I wish I’d found this after reading Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda – it’s the same level of cuteness that gives you just as many feels. If you’re left with a book hangover from reading Simon for the first time, you NEED to read this book. I reiterate, you HAVE to read this book. It has to be law.

 

The Little Paris Bookshop (Nina George)

I discovered this book at the start of last year – I think this was maybe one of the first few books I read in 2016 – and I may have died just a little bit because nobody else is talking about this book. HOW is anyone not talking about this book? IT’S BEAUTIFUL!!!! If you are a book lover in any capacity, you have to read this woefully underrated book.

The Circle/Cirkeln (Mats Strandberg/Sara Bergmark Elfgren)

Like most of the books I read, I found this one recommended on Tumblr, so I picked it up, and was both surprised and a little disturbed by how much I liked it. It’s a psychological thriller sort of book, mixed with witchcraft and all that jazz. Think somewhere along the lines of The Craft. If, like me, you like very dark fantasy, mixed with a little folklore, this is a book for you.

What Happened To Lani Garver (Carol Plum-Ucci)

Let me just redirect you to this post, where you can see just how much I love this perfect little hidden gem of a novel. Yeah, just there. Go on and click.

this

 

The Summer I Wasn’t Me (Jessica Verdi)

The last, but not least, LGBTQ+ book on this list, this one got me right in the feelings the way a good book should. I came across this when I was searching for better LGBTQ books to read, and when I found this one and saw that it’s about a conversion therapy camp, I just had to read it. It’s emotional, and funny, and so well written, that I can’t believe more people haven’t read it. READ IT!

Undead and Unwed (MaryJanice Davidson)

When you’re just finished reading a heavy, serious book, you kind of want something short and light to read before you dive into another serious book – this is perfect for that. I’d never heard of this series before, but my usual bookshop had the first three of the series in, and so I read and loved them. It’s chick lit fluff, plain and simple, but so good if you want a lighter read.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

That’s all my books for this TTT – if you do this meme, send me a link to your post and I’ll have a look at it. We have to share all the underrated books!

Happy reading!

9 thoughts on “TTT – Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So

Leave a Reply

