Book Review – Queen of Shadows

queen-of-shadows-uk
 

Title: Queen of Shadows (TOG #4)

Author: Sarah J Maas

Synopsis: The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Rating: 5 stars
Review: This review is so, so late, but I did finish this before ‘Empire of Storms’ came out, don’t worry. I still have to even read ‘Empire of Storms’ but at least now I’m mostly caught up, so there’s no chance of spoilers yet. Yay.
I have so many feelings about this book, which I will express in gif form:
Me before reading:
1
Me during the book:
shes_engrossed_by_the_program_she_is_watching-_there_is_probably_no_one_size_fits_all_solution_to_advancing_enterprise_wide_innovation_and_while_innovations_centers_certainly_can_foster_6026022802
Me after finishing:
2
Now, where to start…..? Oh, I know!
I especially love the significance of names in this series – Celaena, Aelin, ‘queen’, ‘assassin.’ All these names are a part of her, yet each name on its own holds a different weight. As Celaena, she’s broken inside and defensive, even against herself. As Aelin, she owns who she is, and she wields her magic with ease. There’s so much of a difference between the Celaena who arrived at Mistward in ‘Heir of Fire’ and the Aelin in this book.
giphy1
Also, I enjoy how layered all the characters are – nobody is truly evil to the core. Lysandra comes across as this stuck-up snob, but in the end, she shows that she truly has a heart and that she is willing to do things for good. Even Kaltain redeems herself a little at the end.
Then we have the lusciousness that is Rowan “I’m-Too-Sexy” Whitethorn. This was basically my reaction when he appeared out of nowhere:
ron-swooning

On a whole other level though, Manon Blackbeak is now my fictional girlfriend. She is vicious, yet with a little heart underneath all that armour. I’m drawn to her, and if she were real, I would be terrified yet turned on. Sorry, TMI. Anyway, back to the review.
As always, Sarah J Maas has not disappointed – once again, I’m drawn further into this world, caught up with Aelin’s story, and invested in all these complicated, layered characters.
Here are some quotes that I especially liked in this particular book:
No flicker of amusement, no hint of fear. The woman could give Rowan a run for his money for sheer iciness.
One breath – another. She was the heir of fire. She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood.
Aedion ruffled her hair and stretched his long legs out before him. “Ten years, and that’s the treatment I get from my beloved cousin.” She elbowed him in the ribs.
 
“You’d think five centuries would give you enough time to come up with something more creative.”
 
“Come a little closer, and I’ll show you just what five centuries can do.”
Rowan shook his head. “I don’t know whether to throttle you or clap you on the back.”
 
“I think there’s a long line of people who feel the same way.”
“Honestly, I wouldn’t mind seeing you three gutted and hanging from the chandeliers by your insides, but I think it would ruin these very beautiful carpets that I’m now the owner of.”
If you enjoy high fantasy, with powerful female protagonists, or even if you’re just looking for the complete antithesis of Bella Swan, then this is a must-read. Read the other books first though – or you’ll be very confused, and also you’ll be spoiling yourself. Although, why would you be reading this review if you hadn’t read the previous three books first? Huh. I’m babbling, so lets just wrap this up before I devolve into a tangent on something very random and completely unconnected to this review.
If you have read this already, recommend this series to all your friends. Everyone will love this, and just think how good you’ll feel about getting your mates hooked on such an amazing and healthy (?) thing.
Happy reading!
Leave a Reply

