Book Review – Nerve

nerve-9781471146169_hr

 

Title: Nerve

Author: Jeanne Ryan

Synopsis: A high-stakes online game of dares turns deadly

When Vee is picked to be a player in NERVE, an anonymous game of dares broadcast live online, she discovers that the gameknows her. They tempt her with prizes taken from her ThisIsMe page and team her up with the perfect boy, sizzling-hot Ian. At first it’s exhilarating–Vee and Ian’s fans cheer them on to riskier dares with higher stakes. But the game takes a twisted turn when they’re directed to a secret location with five other players for the Grand Prize round. Suddenly they’re playing all or nothing, with their lives on the line. Just how far will Vee go before she loses NERVE?

Rating: 3 stars
Review: To be honest, the only reasons I picked this one up was because my sisters have been raving about wanting to see the movie adaptation, and because my sister’s library copy was sitting on the shelf and I was bored. Despite that though, I have feelings about this book.
Me before reading it:
vrm29qa
Me halfway through reading:
giphy
Me after finishing it:
raw
The book is basically about a load of sadistic people who either do stupid and risky things for money and the thrill of it, or who get their kicks from watching aforementioned people doing risky things for the thrill of it. It’s like the Hunger Games meets The Selection, yet way more risky and way more real.
rachelisthisreallife
One of the things I liked about this book was that feeling of, ‘What will happen next? Will they live?’ However, the pacing in the book was really weird. There were moments where it was fast paced, edge-of-your-seat tension, but then other times it was just boring and slow.
Also, there were very few of the characters I actually liked in the end. Syd (the protagonist’s best friend) is a bully disguised as a friend, the girls in NERVE were all awful beyond belief, and even Ian (the love interest) seemed a little too perfect and boring. Also, I found Vee to be a little too annoying and shallow – she was willing to do humiliating dares for stuff like money and a pair of designer shoes? Really?
Despite the awful characters though, I actually found myself hooked on the book after all. I even ended up breaking my own rule and reading it while I was walking this morning. Oops.
i_dont_even_care_anymore
I guess, overall I have a ‘meh’ attitude towards ‘NERVE’ – it was a good book, and for the most part, I did enjoy it and it kept me hooked til the epilogue, so I would recommend it if you like thrillers, and don’t mind looking past the character of someone who’s willing to go into a purity group and ask for a condom in order to win a pair of shoes.
Leave a Reply

