Book Review – Harry Potter And The Cursed Child

image

Title: Harry Potter And The Cursed Child (Parts One And Two)

Author: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany. Jack Thorne

Synopsis: It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Rating: 3 stars

Review: Since this is one of the most highly anticipated book releases of the year (if not the whole decade), I am very excited to review this book which I genuinely did like, despite what other people have said about it.

image

Let’s explain my feelings in gifs:

Me before reading it:

image

Me after that big plot reveal about three-quarters of the way through:

image

Me after finishing it:

image

Yeah, they sum up my emotional rollercoaster pretty well, if I say so myself.

Starting off with how ‘The Deathly Hallows’ finished, this book focuses on Albus Potter, his relationship or lack thereof with his dad, and his friendship with Scorpius Malfoy. Trust me, there’s so much angst in this, it should be a tv show.

Before I get into the bulk of my review, I’m going to quickly and succinctly get through the several things I didn’t particularly like about it.

First of all, some of the characterization was a little off – Ron seemed more confused than usual throughout the book, and the boys seemed to be considerably dumber than the Golden Trio, making the same mistakes over  and over again. That annoyed me more than anything.

Besides, there were some elements of the book which read a little too fanfiction-like for my liking.

Now onto the good stuff, starting with Scorpius and Albus, AKA Scorbus. These two are freaking adorable and I can’t believe this is not actually canon that these two are a couple. Ugh, the painful life of a fangirl….

image

The story as a whole was thrilling, and as it got further in, I became more enthralled in this entire world and the story it was telling, in all these different times. Even though it was a little weird to be reading it in a script format, I quickly got used to that. It just brought back memories of reading plays in English class in school.

Here’s some quotes I especially liked while reading this:

ALBUS hugs his friend. With fierceness. They hold for a beat. SCORPIUS is surprised by this.

TROLLEY WITCH: People don’t know much about me. They buy my Cauldron Cakes -but they never really notice me. I don’t remember the last time someone asked my name.

image

This is chaos. This is magic. This is St. Oswald’s Home For Old Witches And Wizards and it is as wonderful as you might hope.

RON: The trolls could be going to a party, the giants to a wedding, you could be getting bad dreams because you’re worried about Albus, and your scar could be hurting because you’re getting old.

HARRY: Getting old? Thanks, mate.

ALBUS: How to distract Scorpius from difficult emotional issues. Take him to a library.

DRACO: In the girls’ bathroom on the first floor. What on earth would they be doing there?

-UMBRIDGE: Now come along – I don’t know what game you’re playing, but you’re upsetting the Dementors and entirely ruining Voldemort Day.

image

Ha! Upsetting the Dementors….

Anyway, I give this book a 3 star rating, because even though I did enjoy reading it, and it was great, I’m not completely fangirling over it. It’s more than ‘meh’ but less than ‘yay!’ If you are a Potter fan in any way though, it’s a must-read.

Leave a Reply

