Book Review – Opal (Lux #3)

image

Title: Opal (Lux #3)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Synopsis: After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

Rating: 4 stars

Review: Okay, how do I begin this review? With all these feelings, I guess the only way is to express them with gifs.

Me when I started reading it:

image

Me halfway through it:

image

Me once I’d finished it:

image

Get the gist? Yeah, I’m still working through all my feelings about this. Let’s try actual words now.

Opal follows on from the end of Onyx, and relationships are fractured by the losses suffered in the previous book – especially Dee and Katy’s friendship. However, now the third Black sibling is home, and that brings both happiness and complications, involving the DOD.

Ugh, Blake is the biggest arsehole out of all the arseholes in the world. After what he did in Onyx, I never fully trusted him again, and with good reason. After all, what’s the phrase? Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. Blake must die! Die, die, die!

image

Dee, on the other hand, deserves all the love in the world. Grief makes her a little bit of a bitch, but she’s still a total sweetheart. It really hurt when her relationship with Katy was basically a pile of poop – broTP, much? – but it just made it all the more heart warming when they took that step forwards again. Yay Dee and Katy!

image

Then we have Daemon. Like Katy, I alternate between wanting to have my way with him, and wanting to kill him. He’s so annoying, yet ridiculously sexy. Here lies the perils of having book boyfriends.

Also, have I ever mentioned how much I love that Katy is a book blogger? I mean, there’s parts of the books where she’s just being a book blogger or book fangirl, and Daemon is genuinely interested, and I love that.

image

Jennifer Armentrout just creates this fascinating world of aliens and humans and hybrids, and you can’t help but get sucked into it and into these complicated and layered characters. I only just finished Opal today, and I can’t wait to move on to reading the next one ASAP.

In case you haven’t jumped on the Luxen bandwagon yet (which rock have you been hiding under?!), here’s several quotes to get you into this book:

Daemon was beautiful but prickly, like a Christmas cactus.

-It had taken a lot for us to get to this point, being in the same room with each other, and not overcome by the urge to commit first-degree murder.

Our precious moment of being normal ended with a body lying on my bedroom floor.

It always felt good typing up a review on a book I enjoyed and I went all out, finding bizarre pictures to emphasize the wow factor. I preferred ones with cute kittens, and llamas. And Dean Winchester.

image

– “He’s like a suicidal Energizer bunny.”

Oh dear baby kittens…she’d been mutated.

It sucked – sucked worse than people who pirated books, sucked more than waiting a year for the next book in a beloved series, and sucked more than a brutal cliffhanger ending.

The only reason I’m giving this a four star rating instead of a five is because of that ending. That’s not just a cliffhanger – it’s cruel. Curse you, Armentrout! Not really, I love you.

Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Opal (Lux #3)

  1. Yes, yes, yes to everything! I felt the same way when I read this, but I gave it 5 stars because only the best books have endings that hurt you that much. 😉 I hope you enjoy the last 2 books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

