TTT – Ten Books Set Outside The US

I’ve done it. I’ve succumbed to social convention, and I’m taking part in a weekly meme/link-up. I’ve been blogging for over a year now, and this is the first time I’ll be doing this type of post, but..change is good.
In case you’ve been living under a metaphorical rock, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly link-up thing hosted by a blog called The Broke and The Bookish. I’ve never taken part in this before, usually because I forget about it until Sunday, but since it’s Tuesday, and I’m looking for a blog post topic, why not?
This week’s topic is ‘Ten Books Set Outside The US That I’ve Enjoyed.’
toptentuesday2
1. Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling) – this whole series is set in England (rainy, rainy England…), and since it’s my absolute favourite series ever, it’s the first one that came to mind when I saw this prompt.
6358687438948837351524740332_harry20potter
2. Me Before You (Jojo Moyes) – I had the pleasure of reading about Will and Lou’s relationship, set against the background of a small English town. This is a more recent read, but I definitely enjoyed this one a lot.
3. Chinese Cinderella: The Secret Story of An Unwanted Daughter (Adeline Yen Mah) – I read this way back when I was in third year of school (about 14 or 15). and I still remember how poignant it was, reading about this girl and her familial struggles in WW2 China.
4. Anna and The French Kiss (Stephanie Perkins) – I know this is going to be on everyone’s list, but it’s a cute story and I love it. I want to live in Paris!
tumblr_static_anna_and_the_french_kiss_2
5. The Little Paris Bookshop (Nina George) – Another Paris read, yet I have no regrets. This one’s so sweet, it’s bound to give you a toothache.
6. The Book Thief (Markus Zusak)– set in Germany, this is a quietly inspiring story about the power of books. A must-read for any book lover.
7. The Single Girl’s To Do List (Lindsay Kelk) – mostly set in London, with a quick trip to Canada in later chapters. I cannot express enough how much I adore this book as much as Kelk’s other writing. She’s a fantastic author.
10049436
8. The Lord of The Rings trilogy (J R.R Martin) – it’s set in Middle Earth, but it’s not technically the US, so it counts.
9. The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy (Douglas Adams) – It starts off in England, and then takes a spaceship into the galaxy, so I’ve decided that it counts as part of this list.
image (4)
10. Angels And Demons (Dan Brown) – This one’s set in Rome, and it’s a fantastic book. It grips you right from the first page through til the very last word, and I was hooked the whole way through. Also, Illuminati conspiracy? Duh!
Wow, this was surprisingly hard to think of ten books outside the States…. Oops.
wpid-meh_emma_stone-1.gif
I’d love to read your TTT if you’ve done it this week, so leave a link in the comments and I’ll have a look. Until then,
Happy reading!
3 thoughts on “TTT – Ten Books Set Outside The US

Leave a Reply

