Book Review – Girl Online

image

Title: Girl Online (Girl Online #1)

Author: Zoe Sugg

Synopsis: I had no idea GirlOnline would take off the way it has – I can’t believe I now have 5432 followers, thanks so much! – and the thought of opening up to you all about this is terrifying, but here goes…

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.

Rating: 3 stars

Review: I’ve wanted to read this book forever, but now I’ve finally read it, and…meh.

Penny blogs about life, school, her friends, and even occasionally about the panic attacks which plague her. After a humiliating event involving her underwear and the whole school play cast, Penny wants nothing better than to crawl into a hole and die. That’s when a travel opportunity appears, and it’s off to New York! Of course a boy gets involved, but that’s when her trouble really starts.

The best way I can describe this book is that it’s like a cute filler episode in a tv show – it’s sweet, and adorable and everything, but at the end of the day it doesn’t really have any point  and it’s just a time filler. I read both this and the sequel – ‘Girl Online On Tour’ – within about a day, and I came out of it no better than I went in, except perhaps a little amused.

image

I went into it, expecting Young Adult, but it was really more like a Middle Grade book, to be honest.

The whole relationship between Penny and Noah was very cute, but it didn’t feel realistic. I’m very much a romantic, and a fan of ‘suspension of disbelief’ but this pushed that a little. It was a little too much like insta-love for my mind. Also, to me, it’s a little weird that an eighteen year old guy is falling for a girl who’s only fourteen/fifteen – that’s not that realistic, at least not in any way that isn’t predatory.

image

It’s not a good sign when I enjoy a supporting character rather than the main character in a book. I actually loved Penny’s best friend Elliot – he’s smart, and funny, and caring, and I wish he was my best friend. They even have a knocking signal through the wall – that’s adorable!!!

image

Personally, I didn’t like it, but obviously other people love it -judging by the rate of book sales in its first week – so I’m not bashing the book. I’m just stating that I didn’t like it that much beyond a cute filler book, and leaving it at that.

Happy reading!

8 thoughts on “Book Review – Girl Online

  1. Honestly it doesn’t sound like a great book and I won’t be reading it- not because I’m against ghost writing in general, but because I don’t approve of the fact she lied about having it ghost written :/ It’s very rare that I choose not to read certain books, but this is unfortunately is something I don’t feel like picking up

    Like

  2. I read this one last year and actually gave it one star… =/ such a huge disappointment for me. I didn’t like the writing and found the plot full of holes and unrealistic. did you like book 2 better?

    Like

  3. I read Girl Online fairly recently and did a review on my blog. I did enjoy it as a story; I really would have enjoyed it as a 13 year old I think. However, I was very disappointed to know that this book was ghostwritten. I’d really like to know what’s your take on it being ghostwritten. And the 2nd and 3rd book are supposedly written by Zoe herself. Did you notice any distinction in the writing style?

    Like

Leave a Reply

