Book Review – Fierce And Fabulous

image

Netgalley | Goodreads | Author Blog

Title: Fierce and Fabulous (Sassy Boyz #1)

Author: Elizabeth Varlet

Synopsis: ​Fitch Donovan never thought a lap dance could change his life, but from the moment the gorgeous dancer’s lips touch his, his world comes screeching to a halt. No matter how hard he tries, he can’t shake the desire that rocks him to his core. He’s longed for this passion all his life—he just never dreamed he’d find it with another man.

Sharing a soul-shaking kiss with a straight boy is the kind of drama Ansel Becke just doesn’t need. Spotlights aren’t made for two and Ansel prefers to keep things on a one-night-only basis. So when Fitch shows up asking for an encore, Ansel knows he should send his gorgeous ass packing.

Though Ansel tries to pretend that what’s between him and Fitch is far from fabulous, there’s something about the big, burly contractor that makes Ansel’s world sparkle in a way no amount of glitter ever could. And Fitch will do whatever it takes to convince Ansel that when the thing you need most in the world falls right into your lap, you’d be a fool to let it go​.​

Rating: 4 stars

Review: This is a review of an ARC I received on Netgalley from the publisher, and this is a totally honest review.

Warning – this may contain gifs and fangirling.

image

This book! Oh my god, I’m still getting over it. It’s so hot and sexy, and emotional – it’s got the whole package! Okay, Becca, calm down. Let’s take    it back to the start.

Ansel is a Yanis-Marshall-style dancer who is fabulous and smashing gender roles with his glitter and his painted nails and everything. Then you have Fitch, who is as straight as you can get, working for his family’s construction company. When they meet at a gay club – for Fitch’s sister’s birthday party – their encounter leaves Fitch seriously questioning his sexuality, and Ansel searching for a way to deal with his surprisingly strong feelings.

image

image

This is basically what Ansel and the rest of the Sassy Boyz do:

Fabulous, right?

image

If I had to nitpick one reason why I’m not giving this a five star rating, it’s that the sex scenes lasted too long and were too often for my liking. They seemed to go on forever, and have at least one per chapter. Less is more in erotic books, in my personal opinion.

Aside from that though, I absolutely loved it. I loved the different layers to the different characters, and getting to know the other characters aside from the main ones. Everyone’s just so fabulously complicated, and just…aah!

image

image

This is the first in a series, so it’s my guess that the author is going to do a book for each of the Sassy Boyz. The next book is called Dark And Dazzling, and it apparently focuses on Azariah ‘Z’ Hayes, which I’m excited for.

This book is published on June 27, but isn’t going to be archived on Netgalley until the end of July, so go and request it, because this is incredible. It thoroughly deserves to be rated four stars.

Now, because this book is so freaking awesome, here are some quotes I pulled from it, to get you jazzed about reading it:

“I’m a blinking rainbow sign that says Queer as Fuck.”

“This is all you need to know about me. I like pretty things, but I also love my cock. I don’t want to be a woman, but I happen to look like one. I enjoy wearing heels, experimenting with makeup, and sparkly things. I also enjoy sticking my hand down my pants and scratching my balls, ’cause, yes, I do have them. So, if you asked me out tonight because you thought I was almost a woman or might eventually be one, you’re going to be disappointed.”

“I’m just Ansel fucking Becke and screw anyone who has a problem with it.”

“Stop looking at me like I’m special,” Ansel whispered. It was so quiet and said with such a plea, Fitch barely heard because he was so focused on his own discovery. But when he finally did, the heart in his throat grew so large it almost choked him.

It took a moment to swallow back the emotion enough to respond. “Sorry, Angel, but that’s one thing I can’t do for you.”

Leave a Reply

