Bloggers Getting Paid – Yea or Nay?

I recently came across this blog post where the blogger discusses book bloggers and whether or not we should be paid for what we do, This caught my attention, because I was talking about this exact thing with my job advisor the other day.
tumblr_inline_mk2344znoh1qz4rgp_zps9746d40e
Personally I don’t think we should be paid for it. If you want to earn money from book blogging, then start an online shop and sell your own merch (personally I’d love a tote bag with Jesse’s blog header on it! That header is gorgeous…), or start a Youtube channel and monetise it, but if you’re even just  lucky enough to get an ARC from a publisher, that should be enough for you. You don’t get into book blogging for money – you do it because you love books and you want to share that love with the world, whether or not anyone reads it. At least, that’s my opinion.
tumblr_mwhfga28yf1qmzlazo1_500
I have a job. I earn money through that. I do not need to turn the one thing that keeps me sane into another job. If I do that, it’ll lose what I love about it, and I’ll lose interest. If that happens, I’ll be throwing a year’s hard work down the metaphorical drain.
Yeah, it’d be nice if I got a little extra money through it, but I don’t think book bloggers should be paid for what they do. If you get anything back from your blogging, like an ARC or some extra book-themed goodies, then that should be good enough for you.
tumblr_lugyq8lthj1qbgyx2o1_500
What do you think about this topic? Do you think book bloggers should demand payment for their reviews and blog posts? Or are you of the same mind as me? Talk to me, and let me know what you think, and also go check out Jo’s post that I linked up at the top of this post.
Happy reading!
12 thoughts on “Bloggers Getting Paid – Yea or Nay?

  1. I totally agree with you. I started book blogging because I love books, and getting the chance to review a book for an author or publisher is all I could ever want in return. I’m not even sure who would pay a book blogger? Publishers? If so, I would become wary to trust that blogger’s opinions. And if a blogger does want to be paid to blog, I’d suggest applying to work full-time for a magazine or entertainment website that posts book reviews. So I say bloggers that are doing it for a hobby shouldn’t be paid, and if they want to get paid, consider getting a job in the field and making it full-time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting topic and one that I’ve been weighing up a lot lately. I’ve been wondering whether I should try to monetize my blog. I love it so much that I’d love to be able to do it full time. Imagine just reading and reviewing all day long! But then would all the fun be sucked out of it if I had to rely on it to pay my bills? (This is all very hypothetical because my blog is very new and I’m a long way off being in a position to actually try and make money from blogging).

    Like

  3. Pingback: Blogging: What Exactly Am I Doing Here? – Stories for Sophie

Leave a Reply

