Discussion/Rant: Bad Reviewing

giphy

It’s been a while since I did a discussion post like this, so lets do another one – talking about bad reviews. Oh, I know you’ve all seen them – the reviews that don’t just point out the flaws of the book, but instead just slam it altogether. There’s a fine line between constructive criticism, and being an internet troll. Lets explore that, shall we?

Hush, hush by Becca FAILSpatrick is the stupidest book I have ever read. The most horrifying Twilight rip-off I’ve ever seen on a bookshelf. Horrifying because of the glorified BAD, fucking ABUSIVE romance.

This is what I’m talking about. That isn’t constructive at all – it’s the complete opposite.

cute-ugh-gif-200

 

First of all, I’m horrified that this person actually used the word ‘stupidest.’ How old are they?! Secondly , I get that this person didn’t like the book, but they could have written it very differently, in my opinion. Just because you hate a book, don’t revert back to a stroppy two year old, please. Be an adult, and actually say politely what you didn’t like about it (using grammar and punctuation), and leave it at that. Or better yet, keep your opinion to yourself.

THIS is how you write a review for a book you didn’t like:

The idea is good, wonderful and inventive. It’s brilliant. The execution of that idea I found to be predictable, boring, and annoying.

The first problem, the major problem for me, is the main character. Yelena. She escapes being executed by agreeing to be become the food taster for the Commander of the country she is in. This is believable and set up well. What follows asks the reader to suspend too much disbelief. Yes, it is fantasy, and that calls for suspension, but Snyder asks for too much.

Or even this:

The main character is clearly a Mary Sue, her love interest is excruciatingly obvious, and the writing style is workmanlike at best. This story contains no flair, no ingenuity, and certainly no well-written characters.

It’s short, to the point, and not abusive to the author or the book, despite what the person feels about it. It clearly points out the bad points (in their opinion), and ends it there.
Personally, I don’t like writing reviews for books I don’t like – if I end up not liking a book, I’ll just not review it. Full stop. I’m not going to write about what I hated about the book, and turn off other people about it. Maybe I didn’t like it, but maybe someone else will find that they love it.
i-dont-even-have-time-nonsense
How do you feel about bad book reviews? Do you review books that you hate? Or are you like me and just don’t review them? Talk to me in the comments, and until then, I’m not sorry about all the Jensen gifs in this post, and
Happy reading!
11 thoughts on “Discussion/Rant: Bad Reviewing

  1. EXACTLY!! I hate bashing! No matter how much someone dislikes a book, they don’t have the right to just bash somebody’s hard work. Their opinions might be different from the others but that can be politely stated instead of rude remarks! Great post!

    Like

  2. I don’t write lot of bad reviews, but because most of them involve NetGalley books I feel as though I have a responsibility to post. That said, I try to lay everything out in a clear manner and I usually say at the end that readers should try the book if they think it looks interesting and make up their own minds. There’s been a few exceptions as with 50 Shades of Gray and Hot Pterodactyl Boyfriend, but honestly, they were so bad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

