Book Review – A Court of Mist And Fury

image

Title: A Court of Mist And Fury (ACOTAR #2)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

Rating:​ 5 Stars

Review: Put it this way – I finished this book A WEEK ago, and I’m only recovered enough now to write the review. That’s how amazing this book is. Let me explain further:

image

When we left Feyre and Tamlin at the end of ACOTAR, they were deliriously in love, and everything was wonderful – or so it seems. As it turns out, Tamlin is actually kind of a dick. However, Rhysand hasn’t forgotten the bargain Feyre made with him, to spend a week every month with him at the Night Court, so he appears on their wedding day, and whisks her away. At first, Feyre is resistant and fights against her new surroundings, but then Rhys shows his softer side….

Ohh, Rhys…..I have so many feelings about Rhysand. Right now, all I want to do is draw Rhys in all different positions. He’s cocky, and a huge flirt, but that’s all part of his charm. Also, there’s so many quotes that I just cackled at because they are so hilarious.

“I couldn’t decide which scrap of lace I wanted you to wear, so I brought you a few to choose from.”

“You could try rubbing it on certain body parts and I might come faster.”

image

​Then there’s the female characters of the series. Maas just has such a way with writing such fierce female characters into her books – in this book, we have Feyre, obviously, but we also meet Mor (Rhysand’s cousin), and Amren (one of Rhysand’s inner circle),​ both of whom could kick my ass without batting an eyelid. They’re the equivalent of the cinnamon roll meme – “Looks like they could kill you, and would actually kill you.”

image

As for the other new characters we meet, I’m really imagining Azriel as looking like Mori from Ouran High School Host Club for some reason:

image

​That’s not even mentioning the sex scenes! Maas doesn’t just push the boundaries of young adult – she dances along the edge between young adult and New Adult, waving a Feyre And Rhysand banner in the air. They were so hot, and carnal, and I was left flustered every time – well, except during that one part near the end where they do nothing but have sex. If you’ve read it, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

image

If I had to pick out a flaw, I’d have to say that I’m sad there wasn’t more Lucien in this book. I love Lucien so much….

I give this a five star rating because that’s what I go up to, but I really want to actually rate it 10000000000000 stars, because that’s how good it was. I devoured this book like an animal, and I guarantee you will as well.

Now, I’m going to crawl back into bed and read it again, because I’m apparently a glutton for punishment. While I’m gone, here’s some quotes to get you really jazzed to read it:

“He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”

“The issue isn’t whether he loved you, it’s how much. Too much. Love can be a poison.”

“You do what you love, what you need.”

My equal in every way; she would wear my crown, sit on a throne beside mine. Never sidelined, never designated to breeding and parties and childbearing. My queen.

“I can eat, drink, fuck, and fight just as well as I did before. Better even.”

11 thoughts on “Book Review – A Court of Mist And Fury

  1. Pingback: If You Like….

Leave a Reply

