Book Review – Uglies

image

Title: Uglies​ (Uglies #1)​

Author: Scott Westerfeld

Synopsis: Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. In just a few weeks she’ll have the operation that will turn her from a repellent ugly into a stunning pretty. And as a pretty, she’ll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun.

But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world– and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally’s choice will change her world forever…

Rating: 4 stars

Review:​ This whole series has been on my TBR list FOREVER, so you can imagine how stoked I was when I found the whole series on a shelf in a charity shop? They only cost me a pound for all four – score! Anyway, I started reading this, and it only took me a day or two to finish. Want to know what I think of it? Read on, my darlings.

image

I’ve read ‘Leviathan’ by Scott Westerfeld, so I was pleasantly surprised by how different this was to that. ‘Leviathan’ was very gritty, but I really loved this one. I was expecting a dystopian of the Hunger Games variety, but this was lighter than that.

In a futuristic worlds, there are three main stages to a person’s life – first, you’re a littlie and you live with your parents, and then around twelve, you become an ugly, which is where you stay until you turn sixteen, and that’s when you get a plastic surgery operation that makes you pretty. Once you’re a pretty, you can go party in New Pretty Town, and have fun because the beautiful have all the fun. But maybe being pretty isn’t all it’s cracked up to be?

image

​At the start, I didn’t like Tally very much – I found her to be shallow, and vapid, and just…ugh. She acted more like a twelve-year old than someone about to turn sixteen. However, as we follow her through the book, she becomes someone I actually ended up liking by the end of it.​ Shay on the other hand, I never liked. She’s the kind of girl I would have hated in school, because she’s so annoying and she always believes she is right. Again I reiterate – ugh.

image

image

​On the flipside though, I really loved reading about all of the differences between this new world, and the one we know and live in now. To these characters, we’re considered as primitive as cavemen. To the characters in this book, we’d be called Rusties. It was really interesting to read Tally’s reactions to things that aren’t a big deal to you and me – roller coasters, railroad tracks, even magazines.​

​I can’t wait to start reading the next book – ‘Pretties’ – and find out what happens next. If the second book is anything like the first – four star worthy – then I’m going to love it.

If you like dystopian novels like ‘Matched’ (Allie Condie), then you should definitely pick this one up for a read. It’s so worth it.​

Leave a Reply

