Book Review – Half Bad (HB #1)

image

Title: Half Bad (Half Bad #1)

Author: Sally Green

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

Rating: 4 1/2 stars

Review: This series was recommended to me by a fellow blogger after I posted about there not being enough bisexual characters in fiction, so I decided to give it a go. I have a lot of feelings about this.

First of all,​ the start of the book threw me off a little – the first ten or so pages were in second-person POV, and at the start of the book, Nathan is only ten, so the style of the language felt juvenile for me. I was tempted to shelve it as a DNF, but I persevered, and I actually ended up getting really into it.

image

image

image

I was so not disappointed by the character development – I loved how Nathan stood up to the Council (kind of like Harry Potter’s Ministry of Magic) and didn’t let them ruin his life. He took control. Power to the rebels!

Then later on, we meet Gabriel. Oh, Gabriel…. Gabriel is the cutest little cupcake ever, and I just want to hug him so much. You can tell how many feelings I have about Gabriel. If you don’t know who he is, just read the book for this adorable little French witch to steal your heart.

image

Basically, I can’t wait to read the second book, because this one kept me captivated the whole way through. It’s not a particularly long book, so you would easily whirl through it, and if you can get past the second-person-narrative parts, then you will love the book just as much as I did.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Half Bad (HB #1)

  1. I absolutely loved this review! Your gifs are on point! I totally agree with you, I was skeptical to read it at first because the main character was ten years olf and it didn’t feel right. However, once I got into it I ended up loving the series!

    Like

Leave a Reply

