Birthstone Book Tag

I wasn’t officially tagged to do this one, but I saw that the lovely Samantha at Spines And Covers had done this tag, and I was intrigued. Thus, this post was born. Enjoy.

By the way, this tag was originally created by Jay G on YouTube.

January (GARNET): Associate with warding off negative forces and dark energies – Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

​No question here- Amy Dunne. She’s manipulative, emotionally abusive, and she is quite possibly mentally disturbed. By the time I’d finished reading ‘Gone Girl’, ​I was certainly disturbed by Amy’s behaviour. If you’ve read the book, you’ll be able to empathise.

February (AMETHYST): Purple is associated with royalty – Name a book with regal qualities… You can base this off of characters o​r​ choose the King of all books

​Obviously, the king of all books is The Lord of The Rings. Yes, I know there’s more than one book in the series, but I don’t care. The whole series reigns over all the other book series’. All other books wish they could be LOTR.​

March (AQUAMARINE): Washed out – Name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower

​Talking about wishy washy? We must be talking about Bella Swan! When I was thirteen, when the first movie was coming out and I read the books, I loved them, but now I’m older, I can see how much of a weak character she is. Ugh.​

image

April (DIAMOND): A diamond in the rough – Name a book that you loved but is not well known

Don’t even get me started on this – I have SO many books that are underrated and not well known, but if I have to choose one, I’m going to go with ‘Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight’ by Jennifer E. Smith. It’s so cute and fluffy and adorable, and you can easily read it on your commute to or from work. More people should read this book.​​

May (EMERALD): Said to balance energy – Name two characters who balance each other well​.

Sirius Black and Remus Lupin. In contrast to James and Sirius – who are just as bad as each other – Remus calms Sirius down, while Sirius awakens a little of the prankster and rebel in Remus. They balance each other out and I love them so much.​

June (Pe​arl): Associated with loyalty – Name a character who is loyal to the end​.

Dobby…..​

image

July (RUBY): Blood red – Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry​.

​Hmm, this is a hard one, since I generally don’t get mad at books….. I guess I’ll have to say​​​ ‘New Moon’ by Stephenie Meyer. There was so much in this book that got me nearly tearing my hair out, so yeah. This one.​

August (PERIDOT): Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems) – Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character

​When I was reading ‘Dash And Lily’s Book of Dares’, I found myself liking Lily’s brother Benny more than Lily herself. He’s just so suave and funny, and I loved him so so much!​

September (SAPPHIRE): Blue like the ocean which is calming – Name a book that had a calming affect on you

​Reading ‘Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda’ always gets me in a good mood​ no matter what. It’s so cute and fluffy, and I’m smiling just typing this right now, so that should give you a good idea of how good it is.

image

October (OPAL): Iridescent – Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (Shiny? Lots of colour?) or you can base it off of a character (Quirky? Colourful?)

​There is no character I can think of who is quirkier and more colourful than Magnus Bane, High Warlock of Brooklyn. In one instance he is described as, “a warlock who looks like a gay Sonic the Hedgehog and dresses like the Child Catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang.” He’s not just colourful – he’s a walking rainbow.

image

November (TOPAZ): Associated with resilience – Name a books with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity​.

‘Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix.’ Even while studying for exams, and dealing with being a puberty-ridden teenager, Harry still fights back against Voldemort – and even worse, UMBRIDGE – and starts up a secret defence class. That’s badass.​

December (BLUE ZIRCON): Associated with friendship – Name a book with a friendship you want to be​ a part of.​

image

​Without a doubt, I’d love to be a part of the friendship between Tamlin and Lucien, and then by extension between Lucien and Feyre. I love reading about their friendship, and I like to think I’d fit in well into their group.​

~~~~~~

That’s that. I tag:

Frodo/Sam @ Fangirls On The Road
Olivia @ Heir of Glitter
Jesse @ Books at Dawn

5 thoughts on “Birthstone Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Birthstone Book Tag | Fangirls on the Road

Leave a Reply

