Blogger Interview – By Hook Or By Book

Remember when I persuaded Jonathan and Aaron at HusbandAndHusband to let me interview them? Well, I also asked another of my favourite bloggers to answer some questions for me, and she said yes, and I’m only getting around to posting this now. Bad Becca!

image

Anyway, this is my interview with the epic blogger that is Kim at By Hook or By Book!

image

~~~~~~

Thank you so much for doing this, Kim. You’re one of my favourite bloggers, and I’m so excited to keep going with this feature. To start off with, how did your blogging story start? What motivated you to start blogging in the first place? Did you have a blog before this one?

I was a children’s librarian for over two decades before poor health forced me into early retirement. One of the things I really missed was discussing books. I was still submitting reviews for my library’s blog, but it wasn’t enough for me. Then, I stumbled across WordPress in July 2014 and immediately knew this online community was for me.

image

What’s your favourite part about blogging?

My favorite part about blogging is the wonderful friends I’ve made from all over the world. It’s been such an amazing experience! I thought when I first started By Hook Or By Book that it would just be this little corner of the blogging world where I’d share my love of books with a few like-minded individuals. A year and a half later I have over 500 followers, which to me is just shocking. Everyday I discover another new and exciting blogger that I simply must follow! Some of them are book lovers like me, but there are also poets, authors, artists, and many other talented people.

Is there any downsides that you have found through your own blogging experience?

There has been no downside to my blogging experience. Everyone I’ve met has been incredibly nice and supportive. Because of my health I tend to be a bit isolated, but being part of the WordPress community has encouraged me to come out of my shell.

Is there any blogs you read regularly?

I follow so many amazing blogs it’s difficult to single out any, but here’s just a few:

Emma
Eric
Vinnie
David
Jonathan and Aaron
These amazing people have taught me so much about movies, music, and more

Do you think your reading tastes have been influenced by other book bloggers?

I’ve definitely stepped out of my comfort zone regarding my reading tastes thanks to other bloggers. For example, Eric suggested I try “The Mailman”, by J. Robert Lennon which I’d never have picked up on my own. Needless to say I really enjoyed it!

If you could do an interview or a Q&A with any author, who would be your choice of author?

If I could do a Q&A with an author I think it would be with Stephen King, although JK Rowling would be a close second. I’ve been a huge fan of “The Master of Horror” since I first read “Carrie” when I was a teenager. He has this incredible talent for getting into the minds of his characters and readers.

image

Have you got any new content in the works at the moment?

I’ve been poking away at a young adult novel for the past couple of years. It’s based on my love for the tv show “Supernatural”. I don’t know if it will ever really go anywhere, but I’ve enjoyed writing it.

Which social media do you find yourself using the most often?

I’m not on any social media right now so I’d have to say WordPress is my sole online media addiction.

~~~~~~~~

Yay! Now for the quickfire round, These are going to be some hard questions, which will have you prodding the deepest depths of your psyche – actually, probably not that hard.

Batman or Superman?

I’d have to pick Batman because I love my heroes to be dark and tormented!

Coffee or tea?

I’m definitely a coffee girl all the way! Especially flavored coffee. My current obsession is Pumpkin Spiced Latte.

Dark chocolate or white chocolate?

I love both dark and white chocolate, but if I had to pick I’d choose dark. Since it has all these health benefits I can feel less guilty eating it!

DC or Marvel?

Oh No! You’re really going to make me choose between DC and Marvel, Rebecca? Well, right now I’m currently obsessed with the tv shows Arrow, The Flash, Gotham, and Supergirl, so I’d go with DC right now.

image

Tattoos or piercings?

If I could I’d definitely have a couple of tattoos. Unfortunately my husband has threatened to divorce me if I get one so..

Chinese takeout or Indian?

We don’t have a lot of Indian restaurants where I live, so I’m definitely a fan of Chinese takeout. Probably too much so!

Morning or night?

I’m definitely a night person. I like to stay up even if it’s just watching tv or reading.

Go-to comfort food?

My go to comfort food is chocolate. Yep. I’m a confirmed chocoholic!

image

Pet peeves?

I guess I’d say I have two pet peeves. One is tailgating. Way too many drivers do this and it’s one of the few things that makes me swear. My other pet peeve is book related and concerns “insta- love” . Actually, now that I think about it this usually makes me swear also. So many authors use this plot device with their characters and in my humble opinion it just doesn’t work and it’s incredibly annoying.

Dream lazy day?

My dream lazy day is sitting in my favorite comfy chair with an awesome book, drinking my pumpkin spice latte. As you can tell I’m pretty easy to please.

Dream vacation?

I haven’t travelled much at all, but one country I’d really love to visit is Ireland. My father’s family is from there and I’d love to trace my roots and see if I have any relatives still over there.

image

~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for doing this, Kim – for anyone who wants to read more about this amazing blogger, I did a Blog Spotlight on Kim’s blog ages ago. Also, if you’d be interested in being a part of this feature, email me or send me a message on Twitter. Links to my social medias are all in my About Page.

Happy reading!

One thought on “Blogger Interview – By Hook Or By Book

Leave a Reply

