Book Review – Onyx (Lux #2)

image

Goodreads | Amazon

Title: Onyx (Lux #2)

Author: Jennifer Armentrout

Synopsis: Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Rating: 4 stars

Review: I freaking loved this book, and the characters – even Ash. She grew on me.

This book follows on from ‘Obsidian’ and Daemon is in full wooing mode. However, the DOD is in town, and so is a new guy at school, who’s interested in Katy as well – uh oh. Bonds are tested, and friendships are strained. Who can you trust?

Who can you trust, indeed? There’s so many secrets in this book that by three-quarters of the way through the book, my head was all awhirl. Who can be trusted? Who’s keeping secrets?

I loved Katy even more this time around – she’s got so much sassy wit, and she’s a book blogger! The only thing that would make me happier would be to find a character with Aspergers Syndrome. Also, I loved that she took a more active role this time – she wasn’t a ‘Bella Swan’ character, she is more badass than that.

image

As for Blake, well…I know if I start talking about him, it’ll turn very quickly into a rant. Let’s just move onto Daemon. Holy alien babies, now I want to date him!

“Cookie?“ he offered, holding a cookie full of chocolate chips.
Upset tummy or not, there was no way I could refuse that. “Sure.”
His lips tipped up one side and he leaned toward me, his mouth inches from mine. “Come and get it.”
Come and get…? Daemon placed half the cookie between those full, totally kissable lips.
Oh, holy alien babies everywhere…”

Daemon still has every bit of that biting, snide wit that he had in ‘Obsidian’ – like when he keeps calling Blake the wrong name (Flake, Brad, Biff,Bilbo, Butler…). Basically Daemon Black is sin personified, and he makes me want to do deliciously wicked things to him.

image

image

I loved how the plot really was developed from the first book, and there were different strands which tied together to make the plot. Aside from the whole keeping the alien secret, Katy also has to deal with alien hybrids, the DOD, and maintaining her friendships and relationships.

Also, I’ve added a new phrase to my vocabulary – douche canoe. Thank you, Ms Armentrout for that.

If you liked ‘Obsidian’, you’ll love ‘Onyx’ even more. Next up, ‘Opal!’

Leave a Reply

