Simon Vs The Book Tag (original) – ft Becky Albertalli!

I’m the happiest girl at the moment, because guess who agreed to do a book tag guest post for me? Freaking Becky Albertalli!! I’m such a huge fan of Becky’s debut novel, ‘Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda’, so I made up my own little book tag for it. Check out Becky’s answers…..NOW!

15497273

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

simon

C/O Becky Albertalli’s Tumblr

Simon – Choose a book about a huge and potentially damaging secret.

SUFFER LOVE by Ashley Herring Blake! This book comes out in May, and it’s absolutely breathtaking (I loved it so much I blurbed it). It’s the most subtly gut-wrenching book, with layers of secrets complicating the characters’ relationships.

 

624df9d44e1cc685f554a1c7109b8ed7_large

Blue –  Choose a character who goes by a pen-name.

This is more of a stage name than a pen name, but I’m choosing “Dearly” – a.k.a. Dill Early from Jeff Zentner’s THE SERPENT KING. This book comes out in March, and it’s literally been on my mind every single day since I read the arc months ago. I can’t fully express how much this book means to me.

 

martin

C/O Becky Albertalli’s Tumblr

Martin – Choose a good character who does a bad thing.

“Good” and “bad” are so subjective, but I’m choosing Minnow Bly from THE SACRED LIES OF MINNOW BLY by Stephanie Oakes. I just finished devouring this book, and I completely fell in love with Minnow. She’s both resilient and vulnerable, and so wonderfully complex – and the story opens with her committing an assault.

 

leah

C/O Becky Albertalli’s Tumblr

Leah – Choose a book that seems harsh and abrasive to start but ends up having lots of feelings.

I’m cheating a little, because I’m using a character instead of a book here. I’m choosing Moritz from Leah Thomas’ BECAUSE YOU’LL NEVER MEET ME. In the beginning of the book, Moritz is prickly and almost hostile – but we gradually get to know him, and he reveals himself to be so kind and tenderhearted.

abby

C/O Becky Albertalli’s Tumblr

Abby – Choose a newly released book that you instantly loved.

EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING by Nicola Yoon. That book is magic. It is perfection. It is bae. I fell in love with it so quickly. I honestly think this book is irresistible.

 

norah.jpg

C/O Becky Albertalli’s Tumblr

Nora – Choose a book that ended up not being what you thought it would be.

KISSING IN AMERICA by Margo Rabb! Because of the title, I think I expected this book to be a romantic comedy (and I love romantic comedies). But it totally surprised me. It’s really more a story of grief, friendship, family, and self-discovery, and it completely blew me away.

 

 

taylor

C/O Becky Albertalli’s Tumblr

Taylor – Choose a character who is just born for the spotlight.

I’m going with a middle grade book for this one: Dillon from Brooks Benjamin’s MY SEVENTH GRADE LIFE IN TIGHTS. This book comes out in April, and it is hilarious, adorable, and so totally charming. No question that Dillon was born for the spotlight – his dance moves cannot be stopped.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you so much for doing this, Becky  – you’re amazing. As for everyone reading this, if you haven’t read ‘Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda’, then you’re seriously missing out. Go get it. Go.

giphy

If you have read the book, and want to do this tag, then go for it. I want to see what you all would put for each category, and if you do this tag, tweet me and Becky a link to it so we can see.

Happy reading!

 

(Peanuts Images from here)

You can follow Becky on any of her social media accounts:

Twitter

Tumblr

Instagram

 

2 thoughts on “Simon Vs The Book Tag (original) – ft Becky Albertalli!

Leave a Reply

