Blog Spotlight – Heir of Glitter

It’s time for another Q, and slay – yeah, no. As much as I want to be, I am not Tyler Oakley, so instead of a Q and Slay, this is a Blog Spotlight, which is hopefully just as cool? Anyway, this week’s spitlight is shone on a recent blog find of mine, which I found via Ashleigh’s (A Frolic Through Fiction) award post. This is Heir of Glitter.

The Blogger Behind The Writing:

This blog is run by Olivia (“…I live for you, I long for you, Olivia…”) who is a high school student from the Midwestern States. Unlike a lot of blogs – mine included – who don’t have a lot on their about page about themselves, Olivia concisely describes herself in a few paragraphs (still more than mine), describing her hobbies and giving a short summary of her blog itself.

“I love YA (young adult) books and reading is easily my favorite pastime. I also love some movies, a handful of video games, and fashion. I have a strong sense of wanderlust and spontaneity, although I haven’t done much traveling yet.”

She has four pets – a dog, a parakeet, a kitten, and an older cat – and she’s met Rainbow Rowell!! That would just kill me to meet someone that awesome! Some other random facts about this cool blogger include that she has nine signed books in her possession, she loves scarves but hates the cold, and if she was trying to escape a desert island, she would have a phone, some food, a knife or dagger of some sort, and an outfit.

Currenly she’s reading ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee, and ‘The 5th Wave’ by Rick Yancey.

goodreads

The Blog Itself:

Now onto the really important part – the blog.

First, lets talk about Olivia’s blog aesthetic. As much as I say looks don’t matter, I am still a sucker for a pretty aesthetic. Olivia’s blog is really simply done; a white background for the posts, a nice lilac purple and a turquoise-y green for the blog background. There’s also a gorgeous sky header, that gives me a serious case of blog envy. Basically I’m in love with the whole aesthetic.

olivia header

As for the book reviews – a staple part of any book blogger’s work – she’s reviewed a whole load of books that I actually have read as well. She’s reviewed ‘The Sword of Summer’ by Rick Riordan, ‘Obsidian’ by Jennifer Armentrout, and the whole Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare. The only issue I have is that the book reviews could be organised better. It took me forever to find where the book review link for ‘Shatter Me’ was, so maybe they could be organised by author? Just a suggestion.

tumblr_nj0d5cuwq01smcbm7o1_250

It’d be nice to have a page with links to all of Olivia’s other posts – book tags, award posts, etcetera – instead of having to search for them, but it’s like the Room of Requirement from Harry Potter – if you know what you’re looking for, you’ll find it sooner or later.

Some of my favourite posts include:

Eleanor And Park Book Review

Most Likely To Tag: Bookish Edition 

January TBR

Where To Follow Her:

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Blog Spotlight – Heir of Glitter

  1. Pingback: Blogger Interview – Heir of Glitter

Leave a Reply

