Book Review – Gone (Gone #1)

2536134

 

Title: Gone (Gone series #1)

Author: Michael Grant

Synopsis: In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young.

There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what’s happened.

Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day. It’s a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: On your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else…

Rating: 5 stars

Review:  This is the first book I’ve read in 2016, and it was AMAZING! I’m reeling from just how powerful and good this was.

tumblr_inline_mpwyg53rzc1qz4rgp.gif

Life is all normal in Perdido Beach – until everyone over the age of fifteen disappears. That’s when everything gets freaky. There’s power struggles – in more than one way – and chaos rules over the whole area. Sam Temple and his friends seem to be the ones in charge, but then the kids from Coates Academy step in.

Ok, how do I even summarise my thoughts on this book? Well, it’s as if Stephen King wrote Lord of the Flies. That’s how good it is. It’s like a weird combination of Under The Dome, and Lord of the Flies, with a little X-Men thrown in there for good measure.

Whoo_hoozer

I have seen a lot of people talking about this book series on Booktube, and on Tumblr, so when I saw a copy for just 50p in my usual bookshop, I just had to give it a chance. Curiosity killed the cat, I know, but books are my weakness.

The characters though – oh my god. These kids are all the biggest manipulators I’ve ever read, and there is no character who is totally free of blame for anything. They all have a little evil in them, some more than others.  Diana is such a little bitch, and Quinn’s a total coward, but it’s really Little Petey that I love the most. He’s an autistic character, but he turns out to be one of the most powerful, which I love. Autistic representation, yo.

x-factor-peace-out-yo-o

I don’t think there’s too much I can say without accidentally spoiling the book, so I’ll just say that I absolutely loved it despite usually not being a sci-fi type of girl, I can’t wait to read the second book in the series, and I wholly recommend it to anyone.

 

One thought on “Book Review – Gone (Gone #1)

  1. Pingback: If You Like….

Leave a Reply

