Book Review – Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1)

image

Title: Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1)

Author: Thea Harrison

Synopsis: Half human and half Wyr, Pia Giovanni spent her life keeping a low profile among the Wyrkind and avoiding the continuing conflict between them and their Dark Fae enemies. But after being blackmailed into stealing a coin from the hoard of a dragon, Pia finds herself targeted by one of the most powerful of the Elder races.

Rating: 4 stars

Review: This book and my feelings about it can be summed up in three gifs:

Before reading it:

image

During reading it:

image

After reading it:

image

Pia has spent her whole life purposefully staying away from the Wyr world – shape shifters and paranormal creatures – but her now ex-boyfriend coerces her into stealing from Dragos Cuelebre, a powerful business-dragon, and she ends up on the run. Ever tried being on the run from a dragon? Not the easiest thing in the world.

I loved every single one of the characters in this book – even the evil ones. They were just so well written and layered that I loved each and every one. Rune and Graydon (Dragos’ sentinels) seemed off-putting when I first read them, but I became so into them as they loosened up. Even Aryal ended up with my grudging respect.

Dragos….oh, my gods, Dragos is just amazing. At first glance he seems like an Edward Cullen-type character, possessive and controlling and borderline abusive, but Dragos isn’t like that. He genuinely cares for Pia and wants to protect her. I want him to just scoop me up in those claws and take me somewhere safe…like his bed. Oh yeah, this book contains hot, steamy dragon sex.  Just a heads up.

image

There were parts of the book where I wasn’t sure whose POV it was from, since the whole book is in third person and centres from Pia or Dragos, but overall the writing was exquisite and I was enthralled from page one to the end. If you like urban fantasy or urban paranormal books, this is one you should add to your TBR. Like, now. It’s bloody fantastic.

This is the first book in the Elder Races series, and thankfully I had the presence of mind to get both this and the second Elder Races book from the library when I went, so now I can get started reading ‘Storm’s Heart’ – the second in the series. Yay!!

One thought on “Book Review – Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1)

  1. Pingback: Top Five Friday – Books Tropes I Love

Leave a Reply

