Book Review – Industrial Magic (Women Of The Otherworld #4)

image

Goodreads | Amazon

Title: Industrial Magic

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Synopsis: After Paige Winterbourne is ousted as leader of the American Coven of Witches, all she wants to do is hide under her duvet for a few months. Let the supernatural world manage without her, see if she cares…But fate, of course, has other plans. A murderer is on the loose – someone with superhuman skills. When Paige learns that the killer is targeting children, she realises she has to get involved in the covert investigation. And so Paige – desperate to protect those she loves – is thrown into a world of arrogant Cabal leaders, drunken necromancers, sulky druid gods and pretentious leather-clad vampires. Luckily, she has a female werewolf and a certain renegade sorcerer on her side…

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Yes, I gave this book the coveted 5 stars, but honestly, this has become my favourite in the Women Of The Otherworld series so far, surpassing my love for Dime Store Magic. It was legen- wait for it -dary!

The book takes place a few months after the events of Dime Store Magic, and everything is all dandy, until Lucas’ father Benicio comes onto the scene. Cabal teenagers are being killed, and Benicio wants Paige and Lucas (more specifically Lucas) to come and find out who is doing it. That’s when things really get crazy for them.

First of all, there is a ton of family issues in this – naturally. It wouldn’t be an Otherworld book without the family issues. This time it’s Lucas’ Mafia-like family that is the biggest issue, but I actually came to like Benicio at the end. It’s clear that he really does love his son, misguided as his actions are. Yay for the family love!

image

Oh, and by the way, Lucas Cortez is my fictional paranormal boyfriend. ‘Nuff said. He is adorable, and lovable, and I can’t get enough of his one-liners, like this one to a deity in a swamp.

Esus:My name is war! My name is pestilence! My name is misery and pain and everlasting torment!

Lucas:Perhaps, but as a form of address, it is rather unwieldy. What do your friends call you?

I’m still laughing at that one. Give me more Lucas Cortez! Make that my Christmas present.

image

There’s also a visit from the wolves, which I loved, as well as new characters like Jaime (a necromancer) introduced into the story. All these characters just smoothly entered into the story, and it wasn’t forced, which is the mark of a good author. The plot rolls together, and I was never bored throughout the whole book.

I can’t even think of anything I didn’t like about this book – that’s how good it is. The sooner I can get my hands on the next book in the series, the happier I’ll be.

Leave a Reply

