Book Review – Shatter Me

Shatter me new eye co#1A459

Goodreads | Amazon

Title: Shatter Me

Author:  Tahereh Mafi

Synopsis: Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Rating: 4 and a half stars

Review:  This has been on my TBR shelf on Goodreads for ages, but I was very intrigued when I found out that the author is actually married to Ransom Riggs (awesome, right?) so I got a copy of the book, and I’m not kidding you, I read it in like a day. I couldn’t put it down. Here is my review of it.

tumblr_mydhqnrtHl1r05bkco4_250tumblr_mydhqnrtHl1r05bkco3_250

Juliette is like Rogue from X-Men – when she touches someone, she causes them extreme pain and sometimes even kills them. Her parents were so scared of her that they gave her to the government, who then put her into a cell to keep her away from people. For three years, she’s alone in her asylum cell, until she finally gets a roommate – Adam Kent. That’s where things really get interesting.

I think the thing I really loved about this book was the X-Men element to it – there is people with special abilities like Juliette – invisibility, healing, electricity, and so forth. I’m a huge comic book nerd, and I love superheroes. This whole book was like if the Hunger Games had magical powers.  It’s awesome.

Characters, characters – who are my favourite and least favourite characters? By a long way, my favourite character is Kenji. He’s one of the soldiers, but he’s very cool. I loved reading all his cheeky one liners, and yet also seeing his gentler side. I can’t wait to read more of him. On the other side of the coin though, I really didn’t like Warner. There is no bigger arsehole in YA literature besides him. Even President Snow wasn’t this bad.

1f25d839baae2d163ab3a8162168ac306cd0c812ea335ec9f0187ad9c7d621c7_1

I can’t wait to get my paws on the next two books in the series – neither can the shih tzus – but I promise when I do read them, you’ll get reviews.

Overall, this is an amazing book, and the only reason I didn’t give it five stars was because I like to save the five star ratings for those mind-blowing, earth-shaking, life-changing books. I can’t just give out my five star ratings willy-nilly. If you are a dystopian fan, read this. You’ll love it.

 

11 thoughts on “Book Review – Shatter Me

  1. oh, I can’t wait for you to read the next 2 books, you should read the novellas too – Destroy Me (before Unravel Me) and Fracture Me (before Ignite Me). After Unravel Me, we’ll see what you think of Warner… eheh 😀

    Like

  2. Pingback: NaBloPoMo Wrap-Up |

Leave a Reply

