Book Review – Thor: The Trials of Loki

image

Title: Thor: The Trials of Loki

Author: Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa

Synopsis: The true origin of Thor’s archenemy and Marvel’s most unpredictable villain! He is the lie-smith; he is the shape-changer; he is the fire that burns. The God of Mischief and Trickery, Loki. Meet the mirthful, beloved young man that made all the Asgardians laugh…until the first time he killed. Discover the gnarled roots of his twisted, unrelenting hatred of the Asgardians. And learn the chilling truth of why he’ll never be stopped…

Rating: 3 and a half stars

Review: I don’t know what it is about this book, but I’ve been putting this review off for days, and it’s really a pain for me. I like getting reviews written up as soon as I finish the book in question so that I have it all fresh in my mind. Oh well.

I have been on such a Norse-mythology kick lately – I was re-reading Magnus Chase just the other night, I was watching the Valhalla episode of Charmed this morning – hot Valkryies in their leather outfits, eh? – and I’ve finished reading this collection of comics focusing around Thor and Loki and the Norse gods. Why do I love the Norse so much?!

image

The artwork in this book was incredible – I’d expect nothing less from Aguirre-Sacasa – and I loved how truly manic Loki appeared in several panels, but I didn’t really feel any strong emotions for any of the characters. I wasn’t drawn in, and that was disappointing. I was expecting to be drawn into this world of gods, and trickery.

image

One of the pages I did really enjoy was the illustration of the tree of life – Yggdrasil. It was so well done (even if I did find my mind drifting back to Rick Riordan’s Blitzen and Hearthstone) and it was one of my favourites throughout the book.

image

I give this 3 and a half stars because although I enjoyed it, I found myself getting too easily distracted while reading it for it to be anything more than this rating. However, if you enjoy Norse mythology, or anything Marvel, then have a read at it. You might get into it more than I did.

Leave a Reply

