Creatures of The Night….

Happy Halloween! Well, not quite, since it’s actually tomorrow, but close enough.

image

I’ve decided to do this awesome tag that I saw Benjaminoftomes do, but was actually created by Katytastic on Youtube – both videos down below – and I’m determined to have fun with it.

Let’s do it.

Vampires:

image

Ooh, I’m at a crossroads for this one – do I choose traditional sun-hating vampires, or more modern ones? Hmm…. I’m going to go with the modern vampires from Melissa de la Cruz’s Blue Bloods series. This series centres around a group of young New York socialites, who just so happen to be vampires. There’s a lot of cool mythology in this one – especially concerning the fall from heaven, and Michael and Lucifer – and also, it’s unlike a lot of other vampire books. Besides, the main character in the series – Schuyler – is my book soul mate.

Werewolves:

image

Easy choice here – the Mortal Instruments series! It doesn’t necessarily centre around the werewolves in the books, but I have a huge soft spot for Luke Garroway/Graymark. He’s a great dad-figure to Clary, and he’s totally sweet on Jocelyn – also he’s being played by Isaiah Mustafa in the 2016 tv adaptation of the series. The Old Spice guy!

Zombies:

image

The only thing I’ve ever read with zombies in it is iZombie, the comic book. I read it a little while ago, because I’m so eager for the CW tv adaptation to come back for season 2, and I actually enjoyed the comic book. It was cool to see the differences between the two versions, like the heroine’s name (Gwen Dylan vs Liv Moore). Bring on season 2!!!

Ghosts:

image

The Hollow by Jessica Verday! This book is incredible, bringing in the Sleepy Hollow legends, and making it all modern. No spoilers, but I will say that you’ll fall in love with one of the ghostie characters. Just sayin’.

Witch/Warlock/Spellcaster

image

This is a no-brainer for me – the Beautiful Creatures series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. The Duchannes family may be cursed, but they’re pretty good Casters (at least the Light Casters). When Lena’s hair curls, you know you’re in for a magical ride. I love this series, and I wholly recommend it to anyone. Don’t waste your time reading Twilight, read this instead!!!

Fairy/Fae:

image

There is a whole series that I’m thinking of for this one, but I’m going to focus a little more on the first book in the series – Knife, by R.J Anderson. I read this waaaay back in school – quite a while ago – and I actually loved it. Most faeries you read about, have pixie dust or something nice about them. The protagonist of this book, Knife herself, is more likely to brandish a weapon. Also, I’m a sucker for a human-faerie romance.

Demons:

I’m going to have to choose the Infernal Devices series for this one. In the same universe as the aforementioned Mortal Instruments series, this series is magical, demonic, and pure steampunk fabulousness. Demons aplenty in this one.

Angels:

This is overdone, in my opinion, but I’m going to go for the Fallen series by Lauren Kate. This is a series that not a lot of people seem to like, but I like it a lot. It’s fascinating, and I’m pretty much a total sucker for anything involving past lives.

Aliens:

image

Unlike the overdone angels above, there’s not a lot of books with aliens in them. However one does come to mind – The Lunars from Marissa Meyer’s amazing Lunar Chronicles. I know it’s bad and whatever, but I admit, mind control would be pretty cool to have. Don’t you agree?

Superpowered Humans:

image

The entire Immortals series by Alyson Noel suits this category. Right from the onset, the main character Ever can see her dead little sister, so that counts as superhuman, and that’s even before everything else comes along. This is a must-read for everyone who likes YA paranormal fantasy.

That’s the Creatures of The Night book tag done and dusted. I hope you all have an amazingly spooky holiday, and get ready for the post-Halloween rush for Christmas shopping!

image

Happy reading!

image

Leave a Reply

