Top Five Friday – Dystopian Novels

TGIF! TGIF! TGIF!

It’s Friday, and you know what that means? It means Top Five Friday! This week’s top five is a list of my top five dystopian novels. It seems like dystopian is the only thing around nowadays – you mention dystopian, and e everyone says, “Oh, it’s like the Hunger Games?” No. Not every dystopian book is like the Hunger Games.

5. Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins.

image

Despite the fact that this seems to be the default book series in everyone’s minds when you mention the dystopian genre, it is genuinely a great book series, which is why it has made it’s way into the number five spot on this list.

4) City of Ember, by Jeanne DuPrau.

image

I admit, I saw the movie before I read the book, but I definitely prefer the book. It’s very cool to imagine a civilization living under ground, and it reminded me a little of the ‘Wind Singer’ books that I read in first year.

3) The Host, by Stephenie Meyer.

image

Yes, it’s written by the author of ‘Twilight’, but with this book, Meyer takes alien takeover to a new edge. It’s got romance, aliens possessing humans, and a survivor group that is very Walking Dead-esque. I really should re-read this again, since it’s been far too long since I’ve read it.

2) The Maze Runner, by James Dashner.

image

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve seen the movie adaptation of this book, and maybe the sequel which just came out a month ago, but there is a book series and it is amazing. The few female characters are tough as nails, especially Theresa, and the guys are hot even in book form. Read the book, watch the movie, and become a Runner.

1) Divergent, by Veronica Roth.

image

I read this one in the months leading up to the movie coming out, and that led me to reading Insurgent and Allegiant, and then the Four stories. Whoops. I was just so hooked on this story, with its hot guys and girls,and the way each main event rolled effortlessly into the next. It didn’t feel forced, and I loved that. That’s why this is my top dystopian book.

I’ll see you next Friday, for another Top Five Friday, and in the meantime, comment below and let me know your favourite dystopian reads. I’m always up for expanding my already huge TBR list a little more.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

