Book Review – Dorothy Must Die (#1)

image

Title: Dorothy Must Die

Author: Danielle Paige

Synopsis: I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

Rating: 3 and a half stars

Review: The second book on my Halloweenie reading list, and it was…interesting. Here’s my review of Danielle Paige’s ‘Dorothy Must Die.’

Amy Gumm is a pink-haired misfit from a trailer park in Kansas, and she’s got enough trouble for herself, even before a tornado takes her, a rat, and the trailer to Oz. That’s when her troubles really start. She encounters a psycho Dorothy, wingless flying monkeys in trouble for sass, and even a little goth Munchkin.

Dorothy is pretty much like this:

image

If I’m being perfectly honest, this isn’t the most compelling book I’ve ever read in my life. After reading ‘Bad Girls Don’t Die’ just yesterday, this sort  of fell flat. The former was suspenseful and thrilling; this just felt as if each event was just randomly happening without rhyme or reason. They didn’t flow into each other, at least for me. Despite this though, I did enjoy the book.

image

I loved how twisted it was – it was so easy to hate Dorothy, and I loved seeing how different it was to the Technicolor Oz that I’ve grown up with. It’s dark, and creepy, with rebel groups fighting Dorothy and her creepy friends. I’m all for a good retelling, and  this was a great one, despite the flow of the story.

Another little problem I had with the book was that I didn’t know who to trust. I know that’s the whole point of this twisted Oz, but it didn’t sit well with me that I couldn’t trust anyone except Amy. All I wanted was several good characters to firmly root for. Is that too much to ask for?

Overall, it was a good story – in spite of the aforementioned problems – and I’m looking forward to reading the prequel novels as well as the actual second book. If you like creepy, twisted retellings of books, this is one for you.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

