Book Review – Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard: The Sword Of Summer

image

Title: Magnus Chase and The Gods Of Asgard: The Sword of Summer.

Author: Rick Riordan

Synopsis: My name is Magnus Chase. I’m orphaned and living rough on the streets of Boston. And things are about to get much worse. My day started out normally enough. I was sleeping under a bridge when some guy kicked me awake and said, ‘They’re after you.’ Next thing I know, I’m reunited with my obnoxious uncle, who casually informs me that my long-lost father is a Norse god.

Nothing normal about that. And it turns out the gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Apparently, if I can’t find the sword my father lost two thousand years ago, there will be doom. Doomsday, to be precise.

A fire giant attacking the city?

Immortal warriors hacking each other to pieces? Unkillable wolves with glowing eyes?

It’s all coming up.But first I’m going to die. This is the story of how my life goes downhill from there…

Rating: 5 stars

Review: “A demigod, an ex-Valkyrie, a dwarf and an elf walk into a bar…” Sounds like the start of a bad joke, but that’s almost exactly what happens in this book. This book is just… I don’t have words to describe how awesome this book is.

image

One minute, Magnus Chase is just a homeless teen, sleeping under a bridge, and the next, he’s fighting fire giants and being taken to Valhalla, which is so not like you’d imagine it to be. From there, it’s one big thing after the other – including Thor who enjoys watching The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones, a sword who thinks that a pen sword is the most stupid thing ever (Somewhere, Percy Jackson and Riptide are scowling), and a dwarf who uses a granny walker.

When I started the book, I was like this:

image

When I finished it though, I was more like this:

image

The writing is superb – Riordan does not disappoint – and I’m more than just excited for the sequel next year. I know there’s people who say that he focuses too much on the god mythologies and should do something else, but I don’t care. He’s fabulous and so are his books.

It’s been several days since I finished it, and I still can’t get this dang book out of my head. It’s funny, and sweet, and I very firmly ship Blitzen the dwarf and Hearthstone the elf together. They’re adorable, and I won’t listen to anything else.

image

Also, I absolutely love that there’s a deaf character in this book. It doesn’t make a big deal about it – it’s just a character who happens to be deaf – but it’s still an important part, and I can’t wait to see more of this character in future books.

Like all of Riordan’s books, ‘Magnus Chase And The Gods of Asgard’ is for all ages. It’s just perfect for those nights when you just want to curl up in bed and get lost in another world for a few hours. I recommend it for fans of the Percy Jackson books, or fans of Harry Potter.

Happy reading!

image

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard: The Sword Of Summer

Leave a Reply

