Book Review – Glitches (Lunar Chronicles #0.5)

image

Title: Glitches (Lunar Chronicles #0.4)

Author: Marissa Meyer

Synopsis: Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. In Glitches, a short prequel story to Cinder, we see the results of that illness play out, and the emotional toll that takes on Cinder. Something that may, or may not, be a glitch…

Rating: 4 and a half stars

Review: I started this short story with a little trepidation, since I wasn’t sure how good it would be in comparison to the actual Lunar Chronicles books, but by the time I finished it, I was thirsty for more.

image

It opens with little Cinder coming to the Commonwealth with Garan, her new adoptive father. However, when they get home, there are mixed reactions to her presence.

I absolutely adored seeing little Peony and little Cinder bonding, and having fun together – even if it did make me sad, since I know Peony’s fate. I really wanted to see more of Peony, and more of Garan who seemed to be a genuinely nice person.

I fully recommend you read this BEFORE you read ‘Cinder’ because this gives you the perfect little snapshot into the world of cyborgs and Lunars. Read it and love it. I dare you.

image

Happy reading!

image

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Glitches (Lunar Chronicles #0.5)

  1. Ale

    *spoilers*
    I loved it too! It was so nice to get to know this background story of Cinder and how she was “introduced” to her new family. I had this emotional moments when Peony and Cinder were together(since I know what happens to Poeny in ‘Cinder’), but I just loved it, and also a part that I felt so much was when Adri cries for Garan(at the end). That part was really touching because you can see how much she really loved him.
    So yes, in general I was very satisfied with this story, and like you said, I totally recommend to all the ones interested to read this, you’ll surely enjoy it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

