Book Review – Anything For Amelia

image

Goodreads | Netgalley

Title: Anything For Amelia: A true story of the challenges endured by two gay men who had the desire to adopt a child

Author: Andrew C. Branham

Synopsis: When Andrew and DJ decided to adopt and bring a child into their lives, little did they know what they were about to endure; yet never did the thought cross their minds to give up. The horrific, pitilessly, and beyond comprehensible hoops one woman would make them jump through demonstrates beyond a shadow of a doubt that little Amelia was going to be much better off in the loving home that Drew and DJ could provide her. Just when you think, how can two people survive such a nightmare and the journey is just about over when little Amelia is born and will be safely in the arms of her loving dads, Sandi decides to pull one more shenanigan that could change their lives forever.

Rating: 4 stars

Review: First of all, thank you to the author and First Edition Design Publishing for providing me with this e-ARC via Netgalley.

Secondly, what did I just read? I find it very hard to believe that there is someone as unstable and evil as Sandi in the world, and I’m still reeling from how awful she was. I’m a cynical person most of the time, but I still can’t believe just how a human being can be like this.

image

The story itself though, is so touching – the story of two men who literally went through hell to get their child – and I felt like I really was on the same difficult journey as Andrew and DJ. A part of me feels sorry for them, but mainly I’m just proud that they persevered and eventually got their child.

I absolutely do not feel sorry for Sandi though – she lied just as easily as she breathed, she extorted money from them in the millions, and was abusive to everyone in her life. I just hope she gets some serious help, because that woman is unhinged. Severely unhinged.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read about the adoption process, because this shows the absolute worst case scenario, and it’ll make any other adoption seem like a piece of cake.

Leave a Reply

