Book Review – Daron’s Guitar Chronicles Vol 1

image

Netgalley | Goodreads

** Received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review**

Title: Daron’s Guitar Chronicles Volume One

Author: Cecilia Tan

Synopsis: Sex, drugs, and rock and roll. Coming out and coming of age in the days of AIDS, MTV, Reaganomics, and Just Say No.

Daron Marks is a young guitar player with a dream, make it big like the guys he grew up idolizing in New Jersey–or at least escape his dysfunctional family. He makes it as far as music school in Rhode Island, and the rock clubs of Boston beckon him. But it’s hard to succeed from the closet.

A story of how finding one’s self is key to finding love, and loving one’s self is key to loving another.

Rating: One star

Review: This is a DNF for me to be honest. I read about a quarter of the book before I just couldn’t read any more. I’m not one to drag through a book that I’m just not into, and this was one of those.

I’m really trying not to slag off this book, but I hated it. In my opinion, there was no discernible plot, or anything interesting about it. When I requested it from Netgalley, I thought it’d be as good as ‘Running With Scissors’, but I was sadly disappointed.

image

I’m definitely not going to read the rest of the books in the series, but I might try reading the author’s work in future. I didn’t like this one, but maybe other people will like it.

image

Leave a Reply

