Book Review – Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda

image

Goodreads | Amazon

Title: Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Author: Becky Albertalli

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Rating: 5 Stars

Review: I read this last night – in one sitting, mind you – and I’m still having trouble forming coherent thoughts about this book. I just lay there in my bed  for hours afterwards, trying to contain myself because I was giddy from the pure adorableness that is ‘Simon.’

image

This is told from Simon’s POV, and Simon is a Potter-nerd who is also really not out of the closet (at least at the start of the book) but that doesn’t stop him from meeting guys, because he’s met this guy via the school Tumblr, and they email back and forth about really cute things like Oreos. However, someone accidentally comes across Simon’s emails to this guy (who calls himself ‘Blue’) and this guy starts to blackmail Simon with them.

I’ve wanted to read this book for ages now, and once I got chatting to an awesome person on WordPress, I decided to finally read it. Therefore, I found a place to read it online, and from page one, I was hooked. This might actually be the first book I’ve stayed up all night to read, because it was just that good. I don’t usually give books 5 stars, but I swear, this is a 5 star book.

image

There’s plot twists here and there, where you don’t expect them, and that’s part of what made this book so great. It kept me on my toes, wondering who Blue was (no spoilers!) and when I found out who it was at the end, I really did not see it coming.

image

Each character was so brilliantly written, and there genuinely wasn’t a character I could hate, not even Martin. Props to Becky Albertalli for being such an awesome writer. ‘Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda’ is a book to be very proud of.

This whole book – from start, to fabulous finish – is an emotional rollercoaster that will leave you completely head over heels in love with it.

image

4 thoughts on “Book Review – Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda

  1. I loved this review and feel the same about the book! The gifs you included were fantastic and really made me laugh. I feel like more people should read this book,because “Maybe it’s a holy freaking huge awesome deal. Maybe I want it to be” 🙂
    Robyn,
    Wanderlust Blog.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Simon Vs The Book Tag (original) – ft Becky Albertalli!

  3. Pingback: LGBTQ Favourites

Leave a Reply

