Book Review – Chivalrous

image

Title: Chivalrous

Author: Dina L. Sleiman

Synopsis: With Her Future In Jeopardy, This Unforgettable Heroine Won’t Go Down
Without a Fight!

Strong and adventurous Gwendolyn Barnes longs to be a knight like her chivalrous brothers, but her parents view her only as a marriage pawn. When her domineering father makes plans to see her wed to a brutish man, Gwendolyn must fight for her future.

She’s surprised, however, for that clash to include a handsome, good-hearted newcomer. Allen of Ellsworth arrives in Edendale searching for his place in the world, but he finds in Gwendolyn the most unexpected of women.

Tournaments, intrigue, and battles–along with twists and turns aplenty–await these two as they struggle to find love, identity, and their true destinies.

Rating: 3 stars

Review: This e-ARC came from Bethany House publishers on Netgalley, so a big thank you to them.

As for this ARC – the last one of ARC August for me – I have mixed feelings. This book follows the story of Gwendolyn, a woman who wants to prove her worth as a knight, and Allen of Ellsworth, who lost the love of his life to another man. It’s a medieval romance with a strong heroine.

Reading this, I instantly loved Gwendolyn – she reminded me strongly of Finnula Crais, the heroine of Meg Cabot’s ‘Ransom My Heart’ – and I was rooting for her from the get-go. I’m a sucker for a good, strong female character who can defend herself as well as any man (like Katniss, but not quite as martyr-like).

image

Allen on the other hand, didn’t tickle my fancy that much. I can’t quite explain it, but I just wasn’t that interested in the chapters involving him. I was much more into Gwendolyn.

The story itself was interesting enough, but there were several occasions where I just got a little tired of the medieval, Robin-Hood speak. This was very Robin Hood-ish, with a little of The Sword In The Stone thrown in for good measure. This could have been made better by perhaps modernizing it a little, but that’s just my personal opinion.

Until doing a little research, I was unaware that this was a sequel in a series, but judging from the synopsis of the first book ‘Dauntless’, either book could be read as a stand-alone book. I’d recommend this to anyone interested in medieval YA books, similar to the aforementioned ‘Ransom My Heart’.

image

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Chivalrous

  1. Pingback: ARC August – Week 4 Wrap Up | Shih Tzu Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

