Book Review – Lies My Girlfriend Told Me

image

Goodreads | Amazon

Title: Lies My Girlfriend Told Me

Author: Julie Anne Peters

Synopsis: When Alix’s charismatic girlfriend, Swanee, dies from sudden cardiac arrest, Alix is overcome with despair. As she searches Swanee’s room for mementos of their relationship, she finds Swanee’s cell phone, pinging with dozens of texts sent from a mysterious contact, L.T. The most recent text reads: “Please tell me what I did. Please, Swan. Te amo. I love you.”

Shocked and betrayed, Alix learns that Swanee has been leading a double life–secretly dating a girl named Liana the entire time she’s been with Alix. Alix texts Liana from Swanee’s phone, pretending to be Swanee in order to gather information before finally meeting face-to-face to break the news.

Brought together by Swanee’s lies, Alix and Liana become closer than they’d thought possible. But Alix is still hiding the truth from Liana. Alix knows what it feels like to be lied to–but will coming clean to Liana mean losing her, too?

Rating: 4 stars

Review: After the crappy ARC I read earlier in the week, this was so much of a relief to read. It was an amazingly written, well-developed novel, where the main characters just happened to be into girls.

After the death of her girlfriend, Alix discovers that her girlfriend was keeping more than just a skeleton in the closet. Swanee’s secrets begin coming out of the woodwork, but as Alix meets Liana and they get to know each other, Alix has a secret of her own that could ruin everything that she’s struggled to build up again since Swanee’s death.

This is my second Julie Anne Peters novel that I’ve read, the first being ‘Luna’, but I was still struck by the poignancy of this novel as I was while reading ‘Luna.’ I fell in love with Liana as Alix did, and on the flipside, I hated Swanee more throughout the book as more of her secrets and lies came out.

Seriously, I have never read about another character quite as manipulative and lying as Swanee – not since reading Amy in ‘Gone Girl’, which is a whole other level of bitch, trust me. Swanee is almost as bad as Amy, but not quite. Don’t even get me started on Swanee’s brat of a sister, Joss. That whole family’s off the rails.

I liked how everything built up around the one secret Alix was hiding, until the climax, which is when my heart actually broke in half. The whole novel was so well-written, and I applaud Peters for doing such a good job with this one.

I wish I’d read this earlier, because this is a coming-of-age novel that everyone should read. It’s beautiful, and sad, and it’ll make you feel strong emotions of every kind. Read this, and if you like it, then I recommend ‘Luna’ by the same author.

~~~~

becca

Leave a Reply

