Summer Reader Book Tag

Another book tag! Yay! I love doing these fun tags, and this one looked especially awesome, so I decided to do it, because ya know, summer rules! I’ve no idea who created this tag, but I came across this on Kacie’s blog, so figured I’d have a go.

#1: Lemonade – A book that started off bitter, but got better.

The start of ‘Wicked‘ – by Gregory Maguire – is really boring, and I almost closed the book to never open it again, but I persevered, and it got really good after about a third into the book. It started out bitter, but definitely got sweeter.

#2: Golden Sun – A book that made you smile beyond compare

‘The Wrong Boy’ by Anna Louise-Weatherly made me smile so much – it’s adorable when he does this little gestures for her, similar to when Max does sweet and unexpected things for Caroline in 2 Broke Girls. An appropriate reference, since Grace loses her fortune from her father’s mistakes in a very similar way to how Caroline loses her fortune.

#3: Tropical Flowers – A book set in a foreign country.

image

Anna and The French Kiss! This book is set in Paris, the city of love, and it’s a definite summer read. I reviewed it here if you want to take a look, and perhaps tempt yourself to read it?

#4: Tree Shade – A book in which a mysterious or shady character is introduced.

Ain’t nobody more shady than Jack Dandy – from Kady Cross’ ‘Steampunk Chronicles’ series – and yet he’s oddly charming at the same time. Is he good? Is he bad? Who knows?

#5: Beach Sand – A book that was grainy and the plot barely developed.

For this one, I have to choose one of my most recently read ARCs – ‘Breaking (Up) Point’ by Brian McNamara. As I said in my review, there was the groundwork for an interesting plot, but it was so little developed that the tone of the whole book just flatlined.

image

#6: Green Grass – A character(s) that was full of life, making you smile.

Ooh, this is a hard one. I guess I’ll have to choose Hermione Jean Granger from the best series ever written (that needs no introduction). Over the course of the books, we see all these different sides to her, and see that she’s not just the bossy know-it-all whom she first seemed to be at the start. She’s smart, and fierce, and extremely loyal, and she doesn’t take any crap from anyone, which makes me smile.

#7: Watermelon – A book with juicy secrets

As far as I’m concerned, there are no secrets juicier than a mad wife hidden in your attic, which is why I choose ‘Jane Eyre’ for this. I know most people probably wouldn’t choose this particular book, but I love it. It was one of my A-Level texts, and I devoured it. Bertha Rochester/ Antoinette Cosway is a fascinating character, and I was very surprised when she was revealed.

#8: Sunhat – A book with a vast, big universe or setting.

There really isn’t any other choice for this one besides the king of all universes – J.R.R Tolkien’s ‘Lord of The Rings’ series! There is no other fictional world which can measure up to Tolkien’s epic creation. After all, who wouldn’t want to go to Rivendell? Or the Shire? Maybe not Mount Doom though…

#9: BBQ – A book in which a character was portrayed as a hunk

Prince Maxon from Kiera Cass’ ‘The Selection’ series! Even I fell in love with this adorable, dorky hunk, and I’m not even one of the Selected! He’s like a little puppy who hasn’t quite grown into his paws yet, and keeps stumbling around.

image

Credit goes to Kiera Cass via Tumblr

#10: Summer Fun – Pass the tag on

I tag anyone who wants to do this summery book tag – have fun with it and post the link below if you do it 🙂 I’ll check it out if you do.

image

-Becca xx

Leave a Reply

