Inside and Out Book Tag

This tag was initially created by MathomBooks on YouTube, but I found this via Vicky @ Books, Biscuits and Tea. This was actually really fun to do – acronyms are always fun – , so if you do this tag, then just post the link below and I’ll check it out 🙂

Also just because I saw the movie Inside Out the other day, I’m going to add a little pic of my favourite Inside Out character 🙂 Because this is the Inside and Out tag, and the movie’s called Inside Out…I’m going to stop talking now.

image

I Inside flap / Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough (Discuss)

I prefer back of the book summaries than the inside flap, but it has to be an actual summary, and not just quotes from reviews of the book. I don’t care whether so-and-so liked the book and what they thought of it. I want to know what the book is about.

N New book: What form do you want it to be in? Be honest: Audio book, e-book, paperback, or hardcover?

I usually tend to buy paperbacks when I’m getting books, but if I come across a cheap hardcover, I’ll take advantage of the opportunity. Ebooks are great as well – I’ve been reading a lot of ebooks lately though, since I’m taking part in ARC August, and it’s so handy to have all my ARCs on one device.

SScribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why)

Sort of… When I was in school, and I was studying novels for English Lit, I’d make notes in the book, highlighting passages, but when I’m usually reading for fun, I don’t make notes or comments in the pages. It’s different if I’m reading a book in French though, because then I’m making little vocab notes.

I In your best voice, read for us your favourite first sentence from a book.

*ominous voice* “Locked in darkness that surrounded me like a coffin, there was nothing to distract me from my memories….” That’s from my all time favourite book Poison Study by Maria V Snyder, and I love this first sentence because it’s almost poetic, like something one of the Bronte sisters would write.

D Does it matter to you whether the author is male or female when you’re deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?

Absolutely not. It doesn’t matter what gender the author is; it just matters whether or not the novel is good. I’d be just as happy reading a book by a female author as I would be reading a book written by a man.

E Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?

Ok, yeah I’m guilty, but only on one occasion….I skipped to the epilogue in the last Harry Potter book. I just had to know!!!

& 

OOrganized bookshelves, or outrageous bookshelves?

Since I share a bedroom with two of my sisters, space is a little tight, so I have one very organised bookshelf. I love taking all the books off the shelf and re-organising them.

UUnder oath: have you ever bought a book based on the cover (alone)?

Off the cover alone? Nope. Usually when I’m buying a book, it’s because I’ve read it before from the library, or I recognise the author. If I am buying a book that I’ve never read before, the cover attracts me, but then I read the synopsis and that’s what seals the deal.

TTake it outside to read, or stay in?

Stay in, all the time. I prefer to cuddle up in my blanket nest and have my headphones on while I read.

So that’s that. I’m not going to tag anyone in particular for this, but seriously, you should all have a go at this if you haven’t already.

-Becca x

Leave a Reply

