Book Review – Breaking (Up) Point

image

Amazon | Goodreads

**C/O Bold Strokes Books on Netgalley **

Title: Breaking (Up) Point

Author: Brian McNamara

Synopsis: Brendan Madden is starting his freshman year of college and, although excited, he is sad to say good-bye to his high school boyfriend, Mark. After a rough transition, Brendan carves out a place for himself at school, where he has new friends and newfound independence. With the added strain of distance, however, he now finds it hard to maintain his relationship with Mark, especially due to the fact that Mark still must hide the relationship from most of his friends. Brendan’s college life allows him to be open and honest about who he is. He debates whether he is willing to compromise this for Mark, especially since staying in the relationship means forgoing the possibility of finding new romance at college.

Rating: 2 Stars

Review: Remember the Eragon movie adaptation? The one that could have been so good but just…flopped? This is another of those instances. The storyline is there, the characters are there, but the whole thing just falls flat on its face.

Seriously, nothing interesting happens! There’s no build up to a big plot twist, or an exciting climax; there’s no real character development, and I just didn’t enjoy it. It was like plodding through mud up to your mid-thighs. ‘Breaking (Up) Point’ had all the makings of a good plot to begin with, but then everything flatlined after the first thirty pages or so. I mean, hello! A book should have some sort of plot arc. Are you trying to make it bad?

Reading this, I got the distinct impression that I was reading a sequel, but at the same time now. It was unnerving, and instead of making me feel like I was a part of the story, it just distanced me, which is never a good quality for a book.

I was tempted to just not finish it after reading the first quarter, but I persevered and read the whole thing, foolishly hoping some form of plot would appear, or that Mark and Brendan would become interesting characters. Even the sex scenes were badly written, in my opinion – dude, there’s only so many times you can say the word ‘penis’ in one scene.

“He finally puts his mouth on my penis,”

“I slide down his pants and grab his penis,”

“I put the tip of his perfect penis in my mouth,”

That last one is just ridiculous. Seriously, get a dictionary!

I’m sorry to be giving such a bad review for this book, but I just didn’t enjoy it. Maybe you would like it, but I didn’t, so I’m giving it a two star rating because it had the makings of a good book – it just didn’t live up to expectations.

This book is published on  September 15th 2015.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Breaking (Up) Point

  1. Pingback: Summer Reader Book Tag | Shih Tzu Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: ARC August 2015 -Wrap up Week 2 | Shih Tzu Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

