Book Review – Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires #1)

9780451469052_p0_v1_s260x420

Goodreads | Amazon 

Title: Some Girls Bite

Author: Chloe Neill

SynopsisThey killed me. They healed me. They changed me.

Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn’t exactly glamorous, but I was doing fine until Chicago’s vampires announced their existence to the world. When a rogue vampire attacked me, I was lucky he only got a sip. Another bloodsucker scared him off and decided the best way to save my life was to make me the walking undead.

Now I’ve traded sweating over my thesis for learning to fit in at a Hyde Park mansion full of vamps loyal to Ethan “Lord o’ the Manor” Sullivan. Of course, as a tall, green-eyed,
four-hundred-year-old vampire, he has centuries’ worth of charm, but unfortunately he expects my gratitude—and servitude. Right…

But someone’s out to get me. Is it the rogue vampire who bit me? A vamp from a rival House? An angry mob bearing torches?

My initiation into Chicago’s nightlife may be the first skirmish in a war—and there will be blood.

Rating: 4 Stars

Review: I didn’t even mean to find this series – I stumbled onto this series via a blog post about the author, and that carried my interest onto Wikipedia. After a quick glance at the plot of the series, I was instantly caught, and I just had to read the first book in the series. After all, it seemed pretty similar to Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampires series, so I gave it a go (note, go read the Morganville Vampires books – they’re actually the best vampire books out there).

The book series is set about a year after vampires ‘came out of the closet’  – think True Blood – and there’s now a sort of feudal system where each House has a Master and the vampires in each house have to swear fealty to the master. One night on the way back from her university, Merit is attacked by a vampire, but ends up getting saved by the head of Cadogan House – one of the main vampire clans, sort of – who happens to be the very charming Ethan Sullivan (bae!). However, Merit is determined to retain her independence, even though outside forces are preventing that happening.

I whipped through this book in about a day, because I just couldn’t put it down. I do have a few faults with it though, which I’ll quickly list now before I move onto the stuff I liked about this.

  • The numerous Buffy references – like, yes it’s a vampire novel, but there are other vampire hunters aside from Buffy f***ing Summers.
  • The similarities to True Blood, like the references to the vamps coming ‘out of the closet’.
  • The way Catcher and Mallory just seemed to get together just like that. I’m just as much a fan of insta-love as the next girl, but this just happened too quickly that I missed it the first time.

Now for the parts I liked 🙂 I liked how suave and yet dorky at the same time Ethan was. He’s cool and cheeky, and I instantly fell in fictional love with him.  However, there’s Morgan, whom I don’t trust one drop, but he’s still so charming that I’m holding out to see if he turns out to be good – well, as good as a vampire can be.

If you’re a fan of vampire novels as a whole, or liked True Blood/Morganville Vampires, then I recommend that you give this series a go.

Leave a Reply

