Converting A Non-Booklover

“Books are boring.”
“Movies are better.”
“I only read when there’s nothing else to do.”

  
Each of these statements gives me a little heart attack every time, but I guess everyone has their own opinion. That doesn’t mean that it can’t be changed though. I think everyone can become a great reader, if they just find one book that clicks with them.
Personally, I’ve been reading ever since I was little – the first book I remember reading all by myself was a book with three Roald Dahl stories, and I’ve been hooked on reading and books ever since. I love getting absorbed into the story and the characters’ lives, and being transported to another world. It’s my escape from reality. It all starts with one book, and that’s all you need.
My seventeen year old sister isn’t that big of a reader – she apparently only reads stuff on her phone just when she is bored on the bus, but I am determined to make that change. Books are just too good to be ignored and forgotten. 
What books do you think I could use to ‘convert’ her to the side of the book nerds? Comment below with your suggestions. I want good books – of course, all books are good books in my opinion – that could get anyone into reading, preferably containing a little romance. She’s a hopeless romantic!

  

7 thoughts on “Converting A Non-Booklover

      • I just posted about one series called The Remaining, but my hubster seems to find a lot on his kindle- I don’t really read a lot of them, but he’s never disappointed. He really likes Day by Day Armageddon by J.L. Bourne, and Zombie Fallout by Mark Tufo.

        ones that I like are World War Z and Zone One. Good luck with your zombie reading πŸ™‚

        Like

  1. There is hope since she is a “hopeless romantic.” :D. I would recommend books version of a film adaptations that she loves. You can stir her interest in books/novels depending on the type of romance she is into: Historical Romance, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, Romantic Suspense etc. Follow this link: http://www.writing-world.com/romance/romgenres.shtml, it explains the Romance genre with recommendations from various authors. All the Best :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

