Top Five Friday – Classic Books

For some reason, schools always make you read classic novels – like, I’m sure there’s enough symbolism in Harry Potter to write an exam essay on – but I do actually enjoy some classic novels. They’re great to read when you’re in the mood for a long read, or just feel in the mood for something old-timey. These are five of my favourite classics to read, a lot of them being ones I read in school back in the day.

1) Wuthering Heights

wuthering heights

This was one of the novels I did at AS level, and I absolutely loved it. It’s dark, and Gothic, and I’d happily re-read it over and over again.

2) Little Women

little women

As much as I love the movie adaptation, the book will always be better in my opinion. Jo March is literally my fictional soulmate, and it’s one of the best classic novels ever written. o questions asked.

3) To Kill A Mockingbird

tkam

Harper Lee’s sequel to this was recently released – Go Set A Watchman – but I think I’d definitely favour this one more. It’s a novel that everyone should read, and very seriously think about, because it deals with issues of race, of segregation, and it shows these issues in a child’s view of the world. If you don’t read this book at least once in your life, I am ashamed.

4) Jane Eyre

jane eyre

This was one of the books I studied for my A2 levels, along with the prequel-of-sorts ‘Wide Sargasso Sea’, and yet I preferred Jane Eyre to its successor. Mr Rochester is mad, and yet oddly sexy for a fictional character….

5) Tess of The D’Urbervilles

tess

I read this for the first time this year, and I really liked it. I liked seeing the two main male characters, Alec and Angel, woo Tess separately, even though I didn’t particularly like Tess herself. It’s a little hard going in the middle, but aren’t all classics?

Leave a Reply

