Top Five – Summer Reads

The weather’s getting warmer, the shorts and skimpy clothes are coming out, and everyone’s getting on their holidays. However, no holiday would be complete without a nice book to read while lying on a beach somewhere, or even just sunbathing in your back garden . That is why I’ve compiled my list of five summer reads to get you in that light and summery mood.

  
5) Fifty Shades of Grey -El James

  
If you’re looking for something naughty to get you going this summer, try the most controversial book series of the year. Originally a smutty Twilight fanfiction, it’s something to get your senses tingling, and you’ll either hate or fall in love with the enigmatic Christian Grey.
4) The Devil Wears Prada – Lauren Weisberger

  
If you haven’t read this already, you’ve probably seen the movie, starring Anne Hathaway alongside the fabulous Meryl Streep as the boss from hell. The book’s a little different to the movie, but it’s still as much a thrill to read. I read this over the course of the #TBRTakedown Readathon at the beginning of this June, and I loved it.
3) Confessions of A Shopaholic – Sophie Kinsella 

  
This is by far one of my go-to chick lit summery reads. Becky Bloomfield – the Girls in The Green Scarf – is funny, and adorable, and she will put a smile on any reader’s face when they read all about her financial and relationship troubles. Again, this has been put into a movie, but the book is definitely worth a read. 
2) Six Steps To A Girl – Sophie McKenzie

  
I haven’t read this in years, but I still love it just as much as when I first read it. It’s the first book in a trilogy, and I promise you, once you read the first book, you’ll immediately want to read the sequels. A seriously underrated novel, and absolutely one that everyone should read at least once in their life. 
1) I Heart New York – Lindsay Kelk

  
I recently found the first three books in this series for a pound each in my usual bookshop, and I couldn’t believe my luck. This is by far my favourite summer read – from the moment Angela breaks the groom’s knuckles at her best friend’s wedding, to when she throws her phone into the water at the New York docks. It’s funny, and amazing, and I can’t stress just how much of a summer read this is – wait, actually this is not just a summer read. IT’S FOR ALL YEAR AROUND! Haha, I’m getting overly excited now, but that’s just because I am so in love with this book.
Come back next week for another top five compilation.
Happy reading!

One thought on “Top Five – Summer Reads

  1. Pingback: Book Review – I Heart New York | shihtzubookreviews

Leave a Reply

