Coffee Tag Time!!

I came across this tag on one of my favourite book blogs – Beth over at The Quiet People -and I was intrigued… (Even if I’m really not a coffee person – I prefer the sweetness of some Options hot chocolate, with a pinch of cinnamon there as well just to spice it up!)

Let’s get this started!

Black – A series that’s tough to get into, but has hardcore fans.

image

For this one, I’d have to say, A Song Of Ice And Fire by George RR Martin. I do love this series – and the tv show that comes with it – but the books are a little hard to get through at the start. They’re like a chocolate Eclair sweet – hard on the outside, but easier on the inside. Also, the ASOIAF fans are seriously fierce – we are like a Dothraki tribe. Haha!

Peppermint Mocha – A book that gets more popular during the winter or during a festive season.

image

This book somehow makes me feel all warm and fuzzy and in the festive mood, even though it’s based around  Summer faeries. Maybe it’s the magical element, but for me, this is a peppermint mocha book.

Hot Chocolate – Favourite children’s book.

image

I have many favourite children’s books, from different authors but this one’s definitely one of my top choices. I haven’t read it in ages, but I still love the forbidden romance, and the feelings that Wilson evokes in the reader – aka, me. If I’d had Rax in my school,I’d have definitely fancied him!

Double shot of espresso – A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

image

Gone Girl definitely did this for me – it kept me on tenterhooks the whole way through the novel, with twists and turns at every point (sort of like the maze in The Maze Runner, but ten times more thrilling).

Starbucks – A book that’s everywhere.

image

It seems that no matter where I look nowadays, everyone’s read Throne of Glass and is talking about it. Goodreads, Booktube, everywhere. I’m almost sick of seeing it now.

That Hipster Coffee Shop – Give a book by an Indie Author a shoutout.

image

I don’t know that many indie authors, but I guess I’d have to say EL James for this one. Hard to believe that what was once a Twilight fanfiction is now one of the biggest book series’ in the world and one of the most controversial.

Oops, I accidentally got decaf – A book you were expecting more from.

image

When I picked up The Book Thief, I had heard loads about it from Instagram, and from reviews on Goodreads, but I just couldn’t get into it. It really wasn’t what I was expecting, and to be honest, it was a little dull (don’t kill me! *hides under rock*)

The perfect blend – A book or series that was bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

image

Po…Katsa…ohh, be still my beating heart! Graceling just did it for me – it was sweet, with a dash of bitter angst, and with a sprinkle of pure perfection. Before I read Graceling, I hadn’t read such a good book in a long time.

Green tea – A book or series that is quietly beautiful.

image

For me, my choice for this would be the books of Pellinor, because it’s just such an underrated book series, even though the characters are so well written, and the world so expertly crafted, and the plotlines so nicely intertwined. This is such a quietly beautiful series, and I adore it.

Chai tea – a book or series that makes you dream of far away places.

image

I heart New York! I do, I heart it so much, even though I’ve never actually been. This beach read book is one that fits this category perfectly, because it sends me into daydreams of the city that never sleeps, of visiting all the big shops, of seeing Lady Liberty herself, of finding romance in the big city.

Earl Grey – your favourite classic

image

I read this as part of my senior year English Literature exam, and I fell in love with it. Mr Rochester, Jane, the mad wife in the attic? Literary gold. It’s an easy classic, and by far my favourite. If you want to get into reading classics, read anything by the Bronte sisters – Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights…

I tag anyone who wants to do this – comment below with the link to your post if you do it.

Leave a Reply

