Book Review – Wicked

10750

Goodreads | Amazon | My Fancast

Title: Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Author: Gregory Maguire

Synopsis: When Dorothy triumphed over the Wicked Witch of the West in L. Frank Baum’s classic tale, we heard only her side of the story. But what about her arch-nemesis, the mysterious witch? Where did she come from? How did she become so wicked? And what is the true nature of evil?

Gregory Maguire creates a fantasy world so rich and vivid that we will never look at Oz the same way again. Wicked is about a land where animals talk and strive to be treated like first-class citizens, Munchkinlanders seek the comfort of middle-class stability and the Tin Man becomes a victim of domestic violence. And then there is the little green-skinned girl named Elphaba, who will grow up to be the infamous Wicked Witch of the West, a smart, prickly and misunderstood creature who challenges all our preconceived notions about the nature of good and evil.

Rating: 5 Stars

Review: When I saw this novel sitting on the shelf, waiting for someone to just pick it up and buy it, I started fangirling so much, because this book was on my TBR list for months, and now I had a copy. I bought it, took it home, and adored it.

Once I got into the writing style, I read through it quite easily, and grew gradually more absorbed in the story and the characters. I’ve seen the Wizard of Oz, but this just turned that on its head. I really identified with Elphaba, and absolutely detested Galinda, and I just became so involved with the story.

I can definitely see why this has become an award-winning musical, and now I really want to go see it!!!!!!!!!!

Protagonists:  I found Galinda to be a very whiny, spoilt brat – very similar to some of the girls I went to school with, actually – but Elphaba was the character I identified with the most. She’s the outsider, happy to be by herself most of the time. She is me, and I am Elphaba. Gregory Maguire writes such a powerful character in Elphaba, which I loved.

Ships: FIYERO AND ELPHIE! I adored their love affair, and their feelings for each other,  and just – eeeee! However, I also have to say that I do sort of ship Galinda and Elphaba. Gelphie is my guilty pleasure ship, because I just think they could be the opposites attract couple that everyone would say they would never work out, yet they do somehow work together.

Verdict:  I give this novel a tumultuous five stars, because it truly is a literary work of art. It combines magic and politics, to make a beautiful piece of writing, and I would wholly recommend it to anyone.

One thought on “Book Review – Wicked

  1. Pingback: Summer Reader Book Tag | Shih Tzu Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

