Book Review – Valkyrie

valkyrie

Goodreads | Amazon

Title: Valkryie             Author: Kate O’Hearn

Synopsis:  Freya is dreading turning fourteen – that marks the official end of her childhood and she must now take up the full duties of a Valkyrie – a collector of souls from humanity’s battlefields.

But Freya is unlike any other Valkyrie. She doesn’t want to follow in the footsteps of the legends before her. As she observes Earth from Asgard, she tries to understand what it is to be human: to make friends with girls her own age and laugh with boys, without the fear of causing their death with one touch.

Little does she know that her dreams will soon be realized: on her first battlefield mission, Freya reaps the soul of a soldier with unfinished business that will send her to the human world on a deadly quest.

Rating: 3 stars

Review: I saw this book and its sequel on the teen shelf in my local library, and since it was a new addition, I figured I’d take it out and give it a go.

Even though the idea behind it was interesting –  using Norse mythology, which is such an underrated mythology nowadays – the story itself just went too quickly for my liking, and it didn’t invoke any strong emotions in me, like I believe a good book should do.

However I did like some of the characters, such as Alma and Archie. It was fascinating to see Freya interact with the humans , and to see her develop human emotions while still retaining her Valkyrie-like qualities.

Protagonists:  Freya’s obviously the main protagonist, but honestly, I very much preferred Archie. Being someone who was bullied the whole way through school, I really identified with Archie’s character. I just found him adorable.

Ships: There wasn’t that many ships in the book, but in a way, I did sort of ship Archie and Freya, and if I was going to read the second book, I would be hoping for them to become a couple.

Verdict: I give this book three stars, but I just didn’t bond with the characters or become involved in the plot. It didn’t hold my attention that much, even though the characters were interesting enough. I probably wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Valkyrie

Leave a Reply

