Book Review – ‘If I Stay’

If_i_stay_book_cover

Goodreads | Amazon 

Title: If I Stay                                                                              Author: Gayle Forman

Synopsis: The last thing Mia remembers is the music. After the accident, she can still hear it. And she can see her damaged body being taken from the wreck of her parents’ car – even though she doesn’t feel a thing.

All she can do is watch as doctors rush to save her life, as her friends and relatives gather outside her room, as the boy she loves struggles to be near her.

As the next twenty-four hours unfold, Mia must come to terms with what came before the crash – and what would come after. And she knows she must make the most difficult choice of all. If she stays…

Rating: 5 Stars

Review: This is a novel which has all the same brilliance and the haunting poignancy of a John Green novel, and I absolutely loved it. I started this book on the Saturday afternoon and finished it the following morning.  It gripped me from the beginning.

I love the flashbacks to before the tragedy, because to me, they really flesh out the characters and give them more reality to them, which adds to the tragic-ness of the whole situation. The flashbacks and the present events work together and complement each other.

At one point of the novel, Mia – the narrator and central character of the novel – says something which really stuck with me;

“…the world is divided into the people who imagine their own funerals and the people who don’t….smart and artistic people naturally fall into the former category.”

This made me seriously think about my own inevitable ending and what will happen after that, and that is what makes a good book – a book which makes you stop and ponder, that really sticks with you for long after the last page.

Protagonists: The main protagonist is Mia, but a lot of the book goes around her relationship with her boyfriend Adam. Adam is a sweet, romantic, rocker dude, and he just makes my heart melt in every scene of the book he is in. I definitely look forward to reading the second book in the series which I believe is from his point of view.

Ships: I ship Mia’s parents so much to be honest – they’re these hard rock punks who fell in love, and I just find them adorable. That being said, I also really ship Mia and Adam (Midam? Madam?) because when it comes to it, he’s the final decider for her, and it’s so beautiful at the end that I wanted to cry with emotion.

Verdict: A heart wrenching read, which I ate up with delight. I’ll definitely be getting the sequel as soon as possible, and I would recommend this to everyone for a read.

7 thoughts on “Book Review – ‘If I Stay’

  1. When I read If I Stay, I went through the novel in roughly a day as well. It was just that compelling. And I agree; it really does make you stop for a second and think, which like you, I find to be the mark of a good book.
    Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this a couple of years ago and wasn’t much of a fan. It was melancholy and realistic, but just too simple. I haven’t read Where She Went though, and I’ve heard that’s great for readers that didn’t care for this first one. I can easily see how this was enjoyable for others though. Nice review, I enjoyed reading your thoughts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

